Folklore & Folklife
Logan Hall
Center for Folklore and Ethnography
Graduate Program
Undergraduate Minor
Alumni/ae
Folklore Home
University of Pennsylvania Home
Contact

For more information about Folklore and Folklife,at UPenn, contact Professor Dan Ben-Amos at dbamos@sas.upenn.edu.

For assistance with the Folklore and Folklife website, contact Linda Lee at lindalee@sas.upenn.edu.
 

Faculty Courses Events News
 

Fall 2004 Course Guide
Last updated on 07-August-2004

To view a description for a listed course, click on the course name.

FOLK 009 301 Vernacular Art and Artists
M. Murray
Lecture: Tuesday and Thursday 5:00-6:20 p.m.
Requirements: Fulfills the writing requirement
Contact: mlmurray@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 009 302 Writing About the Remembered Past
S. Grady
Lecture: Tuesday and Thursday 3:00-4:20 p.m.
Requirements: Fulfills the writing requirement
Contact: sgrady@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 025 401 Science, Magic, Religion
H. Kuklick
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 1:30-3:00
Cross-listed with: HSSC 025
Contact: hkuklick@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 075 401 Jazz: Style and History
G. Ramsey
Lecture: Tuesday Thursday 10:30-12:00
Cross-listed with: AFAM 077 MUSC 075 WSTD 075
Contact: gramsey@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 101 001 Introduction to Folklore
Steve Winick
Lecture: Monday Wednesday 11:00-12:00
Registration required for both lecture and recitation
General Requirement II: History and Tradition

Contact: swinick@sas.upenn.edu

Recitations:

FOLK 101 201
Staff
Friday 11:00-12:00

FOLK 101 202
Staff
Friday 11:00-12:00

FOLK 101 203
Staff
Friday 10:00-11:00

FOLK 101 204
Staff
Thursday 2:00-3:00

FOLK 103 401 Performing History
R. St. George
Lecture: Tuesday Thursday 1:30-3:00
Distribution III: Arts and Letters
Cross-listed: COML 103 HIST 093 THAR 103
Contact: stgeorge@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 137 401 Sociology of Media and Popular Culture
David Grazian
Lecture: Monday Wednesday 1:00-2:00
Cross-listed with: SOCI 137
Contact: dgrazian@soc.upenn.edu

Recitations:

FOLK 137 402
Staff
Cross-listed with SOCI 137
Wednesday 5:00-6:00

FOLK 137 403
Staff
Cross-listed with SOCI 137
Friday 11:00-12:00

FOLK 137 404
Staff
Cross-listed with SOCI 137
Wednesday 4:00-5:00

FOLK 137 405
Staff
Cross-listed with SOCI 137
Friday 4:00-5:00

FOLK 137 406
Staff
Cross-listed with SOCI 137
Friday 1:00-2:00

FOLK 137 407
Staff
Cross-listed with SOCI 137
Friday 2:00-4:00

FOLK 137 408
Staff
Cross-listed with SOCI 137
Wednesday 3:00- 4:00

FOLK 137 409
Staff
Cross-listed with SOCI 137
Friday 1:00-2:00

FOLK 137 410
Staff
Cross-listed with SOCI 137
Friday 1:00-2:00

FOLK 137 411
Staff
Cross-listed with SOCI 137
Thursday 4:00-5:00

FOLK 137 412
Staff
Cross-listed with SOCI 137
Friday 12:00-1:00

FOLK 137 413
Staff
Cross-listed with SOCI 137
Thursday 5:00-6:00

FOLK 154 401 Modern Jewish Literature in Translation
Staff
Lecture: Tuesday 1:30-4:30
Cross-listed with AMES 154 COML 282 FILM 224 JWST 154
Distribution III: Arts & Letters

FOLK 250 601 Vernacular Art and Artists
M. Murray
Lecture: Wednesday 6:30-9:30
Contact: mlmurray@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 252 401 Rewriting the Bible
N. Dohrmann
Cross-listed with AMES 252, JWST 100
Contact: dohrmann@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 280 401 Jewish Folklore
D. Ben Amos
Cross-listed with AMES 243, COML 283, JWST 260
Distribution: History & Tradition
Contact: dbamos@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 369 401 Folk & Alternative Meds
E. MacKenzie
Cross-list with HSOC 369, HSSC 369
Distribution I: Society
Contact: emackenz@mail.med.upenn.edu

FOLK 500 401 Proseminar in Folklore
Staff
Seminar: TBA

Folk 503 401 Issues Folklore Theory
R. Abrahams
Seminar: Tuesday 1:00-3:00
Contact: abrahams@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 510 401 Ethnography of Belief
D. Hufford
Seminar: Monday 1:00-3:00
Cross-listed with: RELS507
Contact: dhufford@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 527 401 Anthropology & Education
R. Lukose
Lecture: Wednesday 4:30-6:30
Cross-listed with: EDUC547, URBS547,ANTH547
Contact: ralukose@gse.upenn.edu

FOLK 532 401 Proverb, Riddle & Speech
D. Ben Amos
Seminar: Thursday 12:00-2:00
Cross-listed with AMES 652, COML 529
Contact: dbamos@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 541 640 Academic Writing and Research Design in the Arts and Sciences
Kris Rabberman
Seminar: Monday 6:00-9:00
Contact: rabberman@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 715 401 Seminar in Ethnomusicology
C. Muller
Seminar Monday 2:00-5:00 pm
Cross-listed with: ANTH 705 MUSC 705
Contact: camuller@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 725 301 Bodylore
M. Hufford
Seminar: Wednesday 1:00-3:00
Contact: mhufford@sas.upenn.edu

 
<< Return to previous page