Folklore & Folklife
Fiji House
Center for Folklore and Ethnography
Graduate Program
Undergraduate Minor
Alumni/ae
Folklore Home
University of Pennsylvania Home
Contact

For more information about Folklore and Folklife,at UPenn, contact Professor Dan Ben-Amos at dbamos@sas.upenn.edu.

For assistance with the Folklore and Folklife website, contact Linda Lee at lindalee@sas.upenn.edu.
 

Faculty Courses Events News
 

Fall 2006 Course Guide
Last updated on 20-May-2006

For more detailed information regarding any of the courses that follow, or if you have specific questions about any of the Fall 2006 courses, please contact the instructor/contact person whose name, phone number, and/or e-mail address is listed with each course. For other inquiries, contact Joyce Roselle, at jroselle@sas.upenn.edu

To view a description for a listed course, click on the course name.

FOLK 009 301 Writing Ethnography
J. David
Seminar: Monday, Wednesday 5:00-6:30 p.m.
Requirements: Fulfills the College Writing Requirement
Contact: jdavid@fast.net

FOLK 022 401 World Music and Cultures
T. Rommen
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 12:00-1:30 p.m.
Cross-listed with: AFST 050, ANTH 022, MUSC 050
General Requirements III: Arts & Letters
Contact: trommen@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 025 601 Science, Magic and Religion
J. Blum
Lecture: Wednesday 6:00-9:00 p.m.
Distribution Requirement: Arts & Letters
Cross-listed: with RELS 116 HIST 025 STSC 028
History and Tradition
Contact: jnblum@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 075 401: Jazz: Style and History
Staff
Seminar: Tuesday, Thursday 10:30-12:00
Distribution III: Arts & Letters
Cross-listed with: AFAM 077 MUSC 075 WSTD 075

FOLK 101 001 Introduction to Folklore
Dan Ben-Amos
Lecture: Tuesday Thursday 1:30-3:00 p.m.
General Requirement II: History and Tradition
Contact: dbamos@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 137 401 Sociology of Media and Popular Culture
David Grazian
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday 11:00-12:00
Cross-listed with SOCI 137
Arts and Letters Sector

Contact: dgrazian@soc.upenn.edu

145 401 Comparative Medicine
S. Feierman
Lecture: Monday and Wednesday 1:00-2:00 p.m.
Cross listed with: HIST 106, HSOC 145, HSSC 145
DISTRIBUTION II: HISTORY & TRADITION

Contact: feierman@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 241 401 Great Story Collections
D. Azzolina
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 11:00-12:00 noon.
Crosss-listed: with COML 193
Contact: azzolina@pobox.upenn.edu

FOLK 280 401 Jewish Folklore
D. Ben Amos
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 11:00-12:00
Cross-listed with AMES 243, COML 283, JWST 260
Distribution: History & Tradition
Contact: dbamos@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 306 601 Russians & Fairy Tales
Z. Vaganova
Lecture: Wednesday 5:30-8:30 p.m.
Cross-listed with RUSS 290
Contact: vaganova@voicenet.com

FOLK 323 401 Material Life in America 1600-1800
R. St. George
Lecture: Tuesday Thursday 3:00-4:30 p.m.
Cross-listed with HIST 323
Contact: stgeorge@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 358 001 Folk Art
R. Moonsammy
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 10:30-12:00 Noon
Cross-Listed with COML 348
Contact: RitaZM@aol.com

FOLK 360 401 Native American Folklore
J. Berman
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 1:30-3:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with COML 362
Contact: jberman@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 510 401 Ethnography of Belief
D. Hufford
Seminar: Monday 1:00-3:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with: RELS507
Contact: dhufford@psu.edu

FOLK 517 401: Race, Poverty and Class
M. Dyson
Seminar: Monday 2:00-5:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with: REL 517
Contact: mdyson@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 541 640 Academic Writing and Research Design in the Arts and Sciences
K. Rabberman
Seminar: Wednesday 6:00-9:10 p.m.
Contact: rabberman@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 603 640 Food Culture & Society
J. Theophano
Seminar: Monday 6:00-8:40 p.m.
Cross-listed with: ANTH 601, RELS 603
Contact: janet.theophano@verizon.net

FOLK 605 401 Anthropology of Music
T. Rommen
Seminar: Monday 2:00-5:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with MUSC 603 401
Contact: trommen@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 725 401 Bodylore
M. Hufford
Seminar: Wednesday 1:00-3:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with ANTH725
Contact: mhufford@sas.upenn.edu

 
<< Return to previous page