Folklore & Folklife
Fiji House
Center for Folklore and Ethnography
Graduate Program
Undergraduate Minor
Alumni/ae
Folklore Home
University of Pennsylvania Home
Contact

For more information about Folklore and Folklife,at UPenn, contact Professor Dan Ben-Amos at dbamos@sas.upenn.edu.

For assistance with the Folklore and Folklife website, contact Linda Lee at lindalee@sas.upenn.edu.
 

Faculty Courses Events News
 

Fall 2007 Course Guide
Last updated on 25-April-2007

For more detailed information regarding any of the courses that follow, or if you have specific questions about any of the Fall 2007 courses, please contact the instructor/contact person whose name, phone number, and/or e-mail address is listed with each course. For other inquiries, contact Joyce Roselle at jroselle@sas.upenn.edu

To view a description for a listed course, click on the course name.

FOLK 022 401 World Music and Cultures
T. Rommen
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 12:00-1:30 p.m.
Cross-listed with: AFST 050, ANTH 022, MUSC 050
DISTRIBUTION: CROSS CULTURAL ANALYSIS (Class of ’10 and later)
ARTS & LETTERS (all classes)
Contact: Music Department (215-898-7544) or trommen@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 101 001 Introduction to Folklore
Dan Ben-Amos
Lecture: Tuesday Thursday 1:30-3:00 p.m.
DISTRIBUTION: HUMANITIES & SOCIAL SCIENCE SECTOR (Class of '10 and later)
HISTORY & TRADITION  (Class of '09 and earlier)
Contact: dbamos@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 103 401 Performing History
Robert St. George
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday 2:00-3:30 p.m.
Cross-listed with: HIST 093, COML 103
DISTRIBUTION: ARTS & LETTERS (Class of '09 and later)
Contact: stgeorge@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 119 401 Race Poverty and Class  ******cancelled******
Michael Dyson
Lecture: Monday 2:00-5:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with: AFRC 119, RELS 199
Contact: mdyson@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 137 401 Sociology of Media and Popular Culture
David Grazian
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday 11:00-12:00 noon
Cross-listed with SOCI 137
DISTRIBUTION: ARTS & LETTERS SECTOR  (all classes)
Contact: dgrazian@soc.upenn.edu

FOLK 145 401 Comparative Medicine
Steven Feierman
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday 11:00-12:00 noon
Cross-listed with: HSOC 145, HSSC 145, STSC 145
DISTRIBUTION: HISTORY & TRADITION  (Class of '09 and earlier)
Contact: feierman@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 241 401 Great Story Collections
David Azzolina
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 11:00-12:00 noon
Crosss-listed with: COML 193
DISTRIBUTION: ARTS & LETTERS (Class of '09 and earlier)
Contact: azzolina@pobox.upenn.edu

FOLK 280 401 Jewish Folklore
Dan Ben Amos
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 10:30-12:00 noon
Cross-listed with: COML 283, JWST 260, NELC 258, RELS 221
DISTRIBUTION: CROSS CULTURAL ANALYSIS (Class of ’10 and later)
HISTORY & TRADITION  (Class of '09 and earlier)
Contact: dbamos@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 358 001 Folk Art
Rita Moonsammy
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 12:00-1:30 p.m.
Cross-listed with: ANTH 358
Contact: RitaZM@aol.com

FOLK 541 640 Academic Writing and Research Design in the Arts and Sciences
Kris Rabberman
Seminar: Monday 6:30-9:10 p.m.
Contact: rabberman@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 575 401 Environmental Imaginaries
Mary Hufford
Seminar: Wednesday 2:00-5:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with: ENGL 584, HSSC 575
Contact: mhufford@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 579 540 Public Arts Liberal Arts: Applied Ethnography and Community-Based Research
Nancy Watterson and Michael Murray
Seminar: Saturday 9:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.
Contact: nwatterso@sas.upenn.edu and mlmurray@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 639 401 Issues in Cultural Studies
Barbie Zelizer
Seminar: Monday 2:00-4:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with: COMM 639
Contact: bzelizer@asc.upenn.edu

FOLK 715 401 Seminar in Ethnomusicology
Carol Muller
Seminar: Friday 2:00-5:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with: AFRC 705, AFST 705, ANTH 705, GSOC 705
Contact: camuller@sas.upenn.edu

 
<< Return to previous page