Folklore & Folklife
Logan Hall
Center for Folklore and Ethnography
Graduate Program
Undergraduate Minor
Alumni/ae
Folklore Home
University of Pennsylvania Home
Contact

For more information about Folklore and Folklife,at UPenn, contact Professor Dan Ben-Amos at dbamos@sas.upenn.edu.

For assistance with the Folklore and Folklife website, contact Linda Lee at lindalee@sas.upenn.edu.
 

Faculty Courses Events News
 

Spring 2004 Course Guide
Last updated on 25-Nov-2003

To view a description for a listed course, click on the course name.

FOLK 009 301 Writing About Regional America
S. Reynolds
Seminar: Tuesday, Thursday 9:00-10:30 a.m.
Fulfills the College Writing Requirement
Contact: sreynold@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 022 401 World Music and Cultures
C. Muller
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday, Friday: 12:00-1:00
Music Building Annex 210
Cross-listed with: AFST50, ANTH022, MUSC050
General Requirements III: Arts & Letters
Contact: Music Department: 215. 898.7544

FOLK 022 402 World Music and Cultures
T. Rommen
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday: 12:00-1:30
Contact: Contact: trommen@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 022 403 World Music and Cultures
J. Noakes
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday, Friday:11:00-12:00

FOLK 022 404 World Music and Cultures
J. Ryan
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 12:00-1:30

FOLK 022 405 World Music and Cultures
M. Jorritsma
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 1:00-2:00

FOLK 029 401 Women and Religion
B. Von Schlegell
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday 12:00-1:00
Cross Listed: RELS005, WSTD109
Contact: brvs@ccat.sas.upenn.edu

Recitations:

FOLK 029 402
Staff
Wednesday 1:00-2:00

FOLK 029 403
Staff
Wednesday 2:00-3:00

FOLK 029 404
Staff
Friday 12:00-1:00

FOLK 029 405
Staff
Friday 12:00-1:00

FOLK 075 401 Jazz: Style and History
G. Ramsey
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 1:30-3:00
Cross-listed with AFAM 077, MUSC 075
Contact: gramsey@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 137 401 Sociology of Media and Popular Culture
David Grazian
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday 1:00-2:00
Cross-listed with SOCIO 137
Contact: dgrazian@soc.upenn.edu

Recitations:

FOLK 137 402
Staff
Wednesday 5:00-6:00

FOLK 137 403
Staff
Friday 11:00-12:00

FOLK 137 404
Staff
Friday 12:00-1:00

FOLK 137 405
Staff
Friday 1:00-2:00

FOLK 137 406
Staff
Thursday 3:00-4:00

Folk 137 407
Staff
Wednesday 3:00-4:00

FOLK 137 408
Staff
Thursday 4:00-5:00

FOLK 137 409
Staff
Wednesday 3:00-4:00

FOLK 137 410
Staff
Wednesday 4:00-5:00

FOLK 137 411
Staff
Wednesday 5:00-6:00

FOLK 137 412
Staff
Thursday 5:00-6:00

FOLK 154 401 Film/Literature: War & Love in Israel
Nili Gold
Tuesday, Thursday 1:30-3:00
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday: 1:30-3:00
Cross-listed with: AMES 154, COML 282, JWST 154
Contact: Asian and Middle Eastern Studies: 215.898.7466

FOLK 201 401 American Folklore
Leonard Primiano
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday 10:00-11:00
Cross-listed with: ANTH205, RELS205
Contact: primiano@cabrini.edu

FOLK 203 601 Afro-American Folklore
D. Samper
Lecture: Monday 5:30-8:30 pm
Cross-listed with AFAM203, AFST213
Contact: dsamper@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 228 001 Folksongs and Ballads
Steve Winick
Monday, Wednesday 3:00-4:30

FOLK 259 401 Caribbean Music & Diaspora
T. Rommen
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 1:30-3:00
Cross-listed with LTAM258, MUSC258
Contact: trommen@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 270 601 Folklore and Sexuality
David S. Azzolina
Lecture: Tuesday 6:30-9:30
Cross-listed with WSTD 270

FOLK 290 601 Asian Folklore
J.Li
Lecturer: Wednesday 6:30-9:30 pm
Contact: lijing@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 302 401 Politics of Culture in Asia
Jay Dautcher
Lecture: Tuesday 1:30-4:30
Cross-listed: ANTH 320
Contact: dautcher@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 407 640 Nationalism and Folklore in a World of Change
I. Todorova-Pirgova
Seminar: Thursday, 5:30-8:10 pm

FOLK 533 401 Folklore/Unorthodox Health
David J. Hufford
Seminar: Monday 1:00-3:00
Cross-listed with: HSOC505, RELS505
Contact: dhufford@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 541 640 Academic Writing and Research Design in the Arts and Sciences
Kris. Rabberman
Seminar: Monday 6:00-9:00 PM
Contact: rabberman@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 545 401 Festive Drama
R. Abrahams
Seminar: Tuesday 1:00-3:00
Cross-listed: COML545, ENGL548
Contact: abrahams@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 639 401 Issues in Cultural Studies
Barbie Zelizer
Lecture: Monday 1:00-3:00
Cross-listed with COMM 639

FOLK 629 401 Theories of Myth
D. Ben-Amos
Seminar: Tuesday 12:00-2:00
Cross-listed with AMES 656. COML 662,RELS605
Contact: dbamos@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 702 004 Field Practicum in Public Folklore
Mary Hufford
Seminar: TBA
Contact: mhufford@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 715 401 Seminar in Ethnomusicology
C. Muller
Seminar Monday 2:00-5:00 pm
Cross-listed: ANTH 705, MUSC 705
Contact: camuller@sas.upenn.edu

 
<< Return to previous page