Folklore & Folklife
Logan Hall
Center for Folklore and Ethnography
Graduate Program
Undergraduate Minor
Alumni/ae
Folklore Home
University of Pennsylvania Home
Contact

For more information about Folklore and Folklife,at UPenn, contact Professor Dan Ben-Amos at dbamos@sas.upenn.edu.

For assistance with the Folklore and Folklife website, contact Linda Lee at lindalee@sas.upenn.edu.
 

Faculty Courses Events News
 

Spring 2005 Course Guide
Last updated on 03-December-2004

For more detailed information regarding any of the courses that follow, or if you have specific questions about any of the Spring 2005 courses, please contact the instructor/contact person whose name, phone number, and/or e-mail address is listed with each course. For other inquiries, contact Joyce Roselle, at jroselle@sas.upenn.edu

To view a description for a listed course, click on the course name.

FOLK 009 301 Vernacular Art and Artists
Michael Murray
Lecture: Tuesday and Thursday 5:00-6:30 p.m.
Requirements: Fulfills the writing requirement
Contact: mlmurray@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 009 302 Writing About the Remembered Past
Sandra Grady
Lecture: Tuesday and Thursday 3:00-4:30 p.m.
Requirements: Fulfills the writing requirement
Contact: sgrady@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 022 401 World Music and Cultures
Carol Muller
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 10:30-12:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with: AFST050, ANTH022, MUSC050
Music Building Annex 210
General Requirements III: Arts & Letters
Contact: Music Department: 215 898 7544

FOLK 022 402 World Music and Cultures
Staff
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 10:00-11:00 a.m.
Requirements, Descriptions and Cross-listings are same as above.

FOLK 022 403 World Music and Cultures
Staff
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 11:00-12:00 p.m.

FOLK 022 404 World Music and Cultures
Staff
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 12:00-1:00 p.m.

FOLK 022 405 World Music and Cultures
Staff
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 1:00-2:00 p.m.

FOLK 029 401: Women and Religion
Barbara Von Schlegell
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday 12:00-1:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with: RELS005, WSTD109
Contact: brvs@ccat.sas.upenn.edu

Recitations:

FOLK 029 402
Staff
Wednesday 1:00-2:00 p.m.

FOLK 029 403
Staff
Wednesday 2:00-3:00 p.m.

FOLK 101 203
Staff
Friday 10:00-11:00

FOLK 029 404
Staff
Friday 12:00-1:00 p.m.

075 401 Jazz: Style and History
J. Primosch
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 12:00-1:30 p.m.
Cross listed with: AFRC 077, MUSC 075
Contact: primosch@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 101 601: Introduction to Folklore
T. Taylor
Lecture: Thursday 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Contact: tonyat@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 120 401: Money in Society & Culture
William Hafford
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 3:00-4:30 p.m.
Distribution III: Arts and Letters
Cross-listed: ANTH120
Contact: whafford@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 223 401: Folk Religion
Leonard Primiano
Lecture: Wednesday 2:00-5:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with: RELS 213
Contact: primiano@cabrini.edu
History and Tradition Distribution

FOLK 228 001: Ballads and Folk Poetry
Steve Winick
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday 3:00-4:30 p.m.
Cross-listed with HSOC 369, HSSC 369
Distribution I: Society
Contact: swinick@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 270 601: Folklore and Sexuality
David Azzolina
Lecture: Tuesday 6:30-9:30 pm
Cross-listed with: WMST270
Contact: azzolina@pobox.com

FOLK 296 401: Jewish Humor
Dan Ben-Amos
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 10:30-12:00
Cross-listed with: AMES248
Contact: dbamos@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 321 401: Exploring Memory and Tradition in West Philadelphia
Meltem Turkoz
Seminar: Tuesday, Thursday 3:00-4:30 p.m., Williams 3
Fulfills the distribution requirement for Society.
Contact: meltem@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 533 401: Folklore/Unorthodox Health
David J. Hufford
Seminar: Monday 1:00-3:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with: HSOC505, RELS505
Contact: dhufford@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 541 640: Academic Writing and Research Design in the Arts and Sciences
Kris Rabberman
Seminar: Monday 6:00-9:00 p.m.
Contact: rabberman@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 576 401: Folkore and Feminism
Mary Hufford
Seminar: Wednesday 1:00-3:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with: WSTD576
Contact: mhufford@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 603 640: Food, Culture & Society
Janet Theophano
Seminar: Wednesday 6:00-8:40 p.m.
Cross-listed with: ANTH601, REL603
Contact: Janet.theophano@verizon.net

FOLK 606-401: History of Folklore Studies
Dan Ben-Amos
Seminar: TBA
Cross-listed with: COML-760
Contact: dbamos@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 616 401: Interpretation of Oral Tradition
Guthrie Ramsey
Seminar: Tuesday 2:00-5:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with: MUSC606
Contact: gramsey@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 620 401: Feminist Theories
Avihu Zakai
Seminar: Monday 3:00-6:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with: HIST620
Contact: zahai@sas.upenn.edu

 
<< Return to previous page