Folklore & Folklife
Fiji House
Center for Folklore and Ethnography
Graduate Program
Undergraduate Minor
Alumni/ae
Folklore Home
University of Pennsylvania Home
Contact

For more information about Folklore and Folklife,at UPenn, contact Professor Dan Ben-Amos at dbamos@sas.upenn.edu.

For assistance with the Folklore and Folklife website, contact Linda Lee at lindalee@sas.upenn.edu.
 

Faculty Courses Events News
 

Spring 2007 Course Guide
Last updated on 09-December-2006

For more detailed information regarding any of the courses that follow, or if you have specific questions about any of the Spring 2007 courses, please contact the instructor/contact person whose name, phone number, and/or e-mail address is listed with each course. For other inquiries, contact Joyce Roselle, at jroselle@sas.upenn.edu

To view a description for a listed course, click on the course name.

FOLK 022 401 World Music and Cultures
Jennifer Kyker
An academically based community service course
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 12:00-1:30 p.m.
Cross-listed with: AFST050, ANTH022, MUSC050
General Requirements III: Arts & Letters
Contact: Music Department: 215. 898.7544

FOLK 025 401 Science, Magic and Religion
Freshman Seminar

Henrika Kuklick
Seminar: Wednesday 2:00-5:00 p.m.
Cross Listed HSOC025,RELS116,STSC028
Contact: hkuklick@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 137 401 Sociology of Media and Popular Culture
David Grazian
Lecture: Monday, Wednesday 11:00-11:50 a.m.
Cross-listed with SOCI 137
REGISTRAION REQUIRED FOR LEC, REC
GEN REQ III: ARTS AND LETTERS

Contact: dgrazian@soc.upenn.edu

FOLK 229 401 Myth in Society
Dan Ben-Amos
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 1:00-3:00 p.m.
Cross-listed: COML357
Contact: dbamos@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 270 401 Folklore and Sexuality
David Azzolina
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 10:30-12:00 Noon.
Crosss-listed: WMST270
Contact: azzolina@pobox.upenn.edu

FOLK 296 401 Jewish Humor
D. Ben Amos
Lecture: Tuesday, Thursday 10:30-12:00 Noon
DISTRIBUTION III: ARTS & LETTERS
Cross-listed with JWST 296, NELC 254
Contact: dbamos@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 321 401 Exploring Memory and Tradition in Philadelphia Communities
Mary Hufford and Yoonhee Kang
Seminar: Friday 2:00-5:00 p.m.
AN ACADEMICALLY BASED COMMUNITY SERVICE COURSE
DISTRIBUTION I: SOCIETY
Cross-listed: URBS327/ASAM 311/ANTH 321
Contact: mhufford@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 360 401 Native American Folklore
Judith Berman
Lecture: : Tuesday, Thursday 12:00 (noon) -1:30 p.m.
Contact: juberman@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 485 401 Geisha/Samurai on Stage
BENJAMIN FRANKLIN SEMINARS
Seminar: Tuesday 12:30-4:30 p.m.
Cross Listed: COM385, EALC255, THAR485
Contact: akano@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 533 401 Folk/Unorthodox Health
David Hufford
Seminar: Monday 1:00-4:00 p.m.
Cross Listed: HSSC533, RELS505
Contact: dhufford@psu.edu

FOLK 541 640 Academic Writing and Research Design in the Arts and Sciences
Kris Rabberman
Seminar: Wednesday 6:30-9:10 p.m.
Contact: rabberman@sas.upenn.edu

FOLK 543 640 Ethnographic Writing
Janet Theophano
Seminar: Wednesday 6:00-8:40 p.m.
Contact: janet.theophano@verizon.net

FOLK 715 401 Seminar in Ethnomusicology
Carol Muller
Seminar: Friday 2:00-5:00 p.m.
Cross-listed with ANTH725
Contact: camuller@sas.upenn.edu

 
<< Return to previous page