Graduate Division News

  • Brian Rose Receives Archaeological Institute of America’s Gold Medal

    James B. Pritchard Professor of Archeology C. Brian Rose has been awarded the Gold Medal for Distinguished Archaeological Achievement by the Archaeological Institute of America (AIA). Rose, who holds joint appointments in the Departments of Classical Studies and History of Art, will receive the award at the AIA’s annual meeting in New Orleans on January 9, 2015. 

  • Biology’s Bonini Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

    Nancy Bonini, Florence R.C. Murray Professor of Biology, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the nation's most prestigious honorary societies and a leading center for independent policy research.

  • Heather Williams Appointed Presidential Professor and Professor of Africana Studies

    Heather Andrea Williams has been named the sixth Presidential Professor at the University of Pennsylvania, effective July 1. Williams will be Presidential Professor and Professor of Africana Studies in the School of Arts and Sciences.

  • English Lecturer Susan Bee Wins Guggenheim Fellowship

    Susan Bee, a lecturer in the Department of English and at Kelly Writers House, has been named a 2013 John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellow. Often characterized as "midcareer" awards, Guggenheim Fellowships are intended for men and women who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts.

  • Chemistry Faculty Garner Three Honors

    David Christianson, Roy and Diana Vagelos Professor in Chemistry and Chemical Biology, and Daniel Mindiola, Presidential Term Professor of Chemistry, have been elected Fellows of the Royal Society of Chemistry. In addition, Professor of Chemistry Madeleine Joullié will receive an honorary degree from Simmons College on May 9.

  • Physics, Biology Professors Elected to National Academy of Sciences

    Class of 1965 Term Professor of Physics and Astronomy Charles Kane and Patricia M. Williams Term Professor of Biology Scott Poethig have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, considered to be one of the highest honors a U.S. scientist or engineer can receive. Members are chosen for their achievements in original research.

  • Neural and Behavioral Sciences Building to Promote Synergy Between Biology and Psychology

    Described as "an epicenter of what Arts and Sciences will do" by Dean Steven Fluharty, Penn Arts and Sciences' Neural and Behavioral Sciences (NBS) building is expected to open in the fall of 2016. The new building will serve as the center of collaboration between the converging disciplines of biology and psychology.

  • David Christianson Named Repligen Award Winner

    David Christianson, Roy and Diana Vagelos Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, has been named as the recipient of the 2013 Repligen Award.

  • Michael Horowitz Wins Furniss Book Award

    Associate Professor of Political Science receives Furniss Book Award from the Mershon Center.

  • William Labov Named 2013 Franklin Institute Laureate

    John H. and Margaret B. Fassitt Professor William Labov has been selected as a 2013 recipient of a Benjamin Franklin Medal award by The Franklin Institute.