Each year, the International Relations Program awards two senior thesis prizes:

The Norman D. Palmer Prize recognizes the best undergraduate thesis. In making its selection, the prize committee evaluates all aspects of the thesis from the importance of the initial thesis question, the strength of the research design, the quality of the research, to the quality of the writing and presentation.

The Director's Prize for Exceptional Creativity in the Senior Thesis was newly established in 2007 to recognize unusual creativity in conception, use of theory, empirical approach, analytical insight, and/or presentation. The award is meant to reward prudent risk-taking in the senior thesis research.

Norman D. Palmer Prize Recipients:

2014Justin Pergolini 
2013David BeizerInternational Compliance Theory and Implementation of the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act
2012Jacob G. WerlinThe Long Peace: A Normative Look Into South American Interstate Security
2011Janis KreilisAnother Case of Tigeritis? Capital Market Liberalization and the 2008 Financial Crisis of Latvia
2010Boyan P. GerasimovConditionality and Legitimacy: How Did the European Commission Manage to Reassert It's Influence Over Bulgaria After the 2007 Accession?
2009Elizabeth Y. SongFrancois Mitterand and Francafrique: Masquerades of Power in Sub-Saharan Africa During the Post-Cold War Era
2008Maxwell A. Kosman 
2007Megan K. PeppelThe Argentine Socioeconomic and Political Crisis of 2001: An Opportunity for Think-Tank Growth
2006 Neil F. Rudisill Absorbing Muslim Minorities in Britain and France: A Comparative Study of Integrationist and Assimilation
2005 Maksim A. Piskunov Commanding Growth or Your Friendly Developmental Dictatorship: Relating Political Structures, Institutions and Economic Development
2004 Rachael A. Martin Coyotes, Pateros, Polleros, Oh My! Migrant Smuggling at the U.S. Mexico Border
2003 Daniel Erlich Schmerin The Poor Man's Strategic Weapon: The Rise of Palestinian Suicide Bombings
2002 Stefanie A. Magner Actor Preferences, Domestic Politics and Cohabitation: The French Decision to Resume Nuclear Testing in 1995
2001 Isabel E. Rioja-Scott International Organizations and Democratization: NATO's Role in the Spanish Transition to Democracy
2000 Kristopher A. De Leon Electronic Commerce: The Evolution in US-Japan Relations
1999 Martin Hrivnak The Rich Man's Atom Bomb?: Nuclear States and Biological Warfare
1998 Aaron Kotok  
1997 Job Campbell Interdependence and Decentralization: Dynamics of Center-Local Relations in the People's Republic of China
1996 Jessica L. Hun Neo-Authoritarianism & Political Legitimacy: China's Struggle with Economic Reforms
1995 David Craig Brown Revolt Against Revolution: A Study on Rebellion Dynamics
1994 Benjamin M. Cukier Political Origins of International Bank Regulation
1993 Joanna Dziubak The Role of Law in European Integration: Bridging the Gap Between International Relations and Legal Theory
1992 Gayle D. Meyers Modeling Peace Conferences: An Application of Game Theory to the Search for Peace in the Middle East
1991 Randy Karl Rethemeyer Institutional Bargaining and the Formation of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Council
1990 Suzanne Maloney The Linchpin Strategy: How the Soviets Targeted Women as a Revolutionary Class in Afghanistan

The Director's Prize Recipients:

2007 Jesse Schreger Globalization, the Lebanese Diaspora, and the Funding of Hezbollah

635 Williams Hall • 255 S. 36th Street • Philadelphia, PA 19104-6305 • (P) 215.898.0452 • (F) 215.573.3207