Penn logo

 

Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations (NELC)

 

Faculty

 

Standing Faculty    
Dr. Dan Ben-Amos Professor (African, Jewish and Middle Eastern Folklore) dbamos@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Paul M. Cobb Professor (Medieval Islamic History)
Dr. Cobb is on leave for Fall, 2014
pmcobb@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Isabel Cranz Assistant Professor (Biblical Studies) icranz@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Huda Fakhreddine Assistant Professor (Arabic Literature) hudaf@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Talya Fishman Associate Professor (Medieval Middle Eastern Religion) tfishman@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Grant Frame Graduate Chair;
Associate Professor (Assyriology)
gframe@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Nili Gold Associate Professor (Modern Hebrew Language & Literature)
Dr. Gold is leave for Fall, 2014 and Spring, 2015
niligold@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Joseph E. Lowry Associate Professor (Medieval Islam; Islamic Law) elowry@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Heather Sharkey Associate Professor (Modern Islamic History) hsharkey@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. David P. Silverman Eckley Brinton Coxe, Jr. Professor of Egyptology; Curator, Egyptian Section, University Museum dsilverm@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. David M. Stern Ruth Meltzer Professor of Classical Hebrew (Classical and Medieval Hebrew and Literature) dstern@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Stephen J. Tinney Undergraduate Chair; Clark Research Associate Professor of Assyriology (Sumerian); Associate Curator, Babylonian Section, University Museum stinney@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Joseph W. Wegner Associate Professor; Assistant Curator, Egyptian Section, University Museum (Egyptology, Egyptian Archaeology) jwegner@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Richard L. Zettler Department Chair; Associate Professor; Associate Curator-in-Charge, Near Eastern Section of the University Museum (Syro-Mesopotamian Archaeology) rzettler@sas.upenn.edu
Adjunct and Visiting Faculty  
Dr. Roger M.A. Allen Emeritus Professor of Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations (Modern Arabic Literature) rallen@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Ahmad Almallah Lecturer in Arabic & Islamic Studies almallah@sas.upenn.edu
Eran Riklis Lecturer in Israeli Cinema
Dr. Jennifer Houser Wegner Adjunct Assistant Professor of Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations (Egyptology) egyptkeepers@museum.upenn.edu
Lecturers    
Dr. Abeer Aloush Lecturer (Arabic Language) aaloush@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Tajmah Assefi-Shirazi Lecturer (Persian Language and Literature) tajmah@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Joseph L. Benatov Lecturer in Foreign Language (Hebrew language) benatov@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Michael Carasik Lecturer (Biblical Hebrew) mcarasik@sas.upenn.edu
Ms. Ronit Engel Senior Lecturer in Foreign Language (Coordinator, Hebrew Language Program) ronit@sas.upenn.edu
Mr. Mahyar Entezari Lecturer (Coordinator, Persian Language Program) entezari@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Feride Hatiboglu Lecturer in Foreign Language (Coordinator, Turkish Language Program) feride@sas.upenn.edu
Mr. Emad Rushdie Lecturer (Coordinator, Arabic Language Program) emad@sas.upenn.edu
Ms. Salwa Shishani Lecturer (Arabic Language) shishani@sas.upenn.edu
Mr. Ibrahim Miari Lecturer (Hebrew Language) imiari@sas.upenn.edu
Mr. Mbarek Sryfi Lecturer (Arabic Language) msryfi@sas.upenn.edu
Emeritus Faculty    
Roger M.A. Allen Emeritus Professor of Arabic Literature and the Sascha Jane Patterson Harvie Professor of Social Thought and Comparative Ethics rallen@sas.upenn.edu
Barry L. Eichler Emeritus Professor of Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations; Emeritus Curator-in-Charge Tablet Room - Babylonian Section, University Museum (Assyriology; Ancient Near East; Biblical and Jewish studies) beichler@sas.upenn.edu
William L. Hanaway Emeritus Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies (Persian) whanaway@mec.sas.upenn.edu
Erle V. Leichty Emeritus Clark Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies and Emeritus Curator, University Museum (Akkadian)  
James D. Muhly Emeritus Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies (Ancient Near Eastern history; Hittitology)  
Thomas Naff Emeritus Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies (Middle Eastern history) tnaff@sas.upenn.edu
David B. O'Connor Emeritus Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies and Emeritus Curator, Egyptian Section, University Museum doconnor@sas.upenn.edu
Jeffrey H. Tigay Emeritus Professor of Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations, Abraham M. Ellis Professor of Hebrew & Semitic Languages and Literatures (Biblical Studies) jtigay@sas.upenn.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maps

Find NELC buildings and locations with Campus Maps.

Campus Maps