Penn logo

 

Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations (NELC)

 

Faculty

 

Standing Faculty    
Dr. Dan Ben-Amos Professor of African, Jewish and Middle Eastern Folklore) dbamos@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Paul M. Cobb Professor of Medieval Islamic History pmcobb@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Isabel Cranz Assistant Professor of Biblical Studies icranz@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Huda Fakhreddine Assistant Professor of Arabic Literature hudaf@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Talya Fishman Associate Professor of Medieval Middle Eastern Religion tfishman@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Grant Frame Graduate Chair;
Associate Professor of Assyriology
gframe@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Nili Gold Associate Professor of Modern Hebrew Language & Literature niligold@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Joseph E. Lowry Associate Professor of Medieval Islam and Islamic Law elowry@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Heather Sharkey Associate Professor of Modern Islamic History hsharkey@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. David P. Silverman Eckley Brinton Coxe, Jr. Professor of Egyptology; Curator, Egyptian Section, University Museum dsilverm@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Stephen J. Tinney Undergraduate Chair; Clark Research Associate Professor of Assyriology (Sumerian); Associate Curator, Babylonian Section, University Museum stinney@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Josef W. Wegner Associate Professor; Assistant Curator, Egyptian Section, University Museum (Egyptology, Egyptian Archaeology) jwegner@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Richard L. Zettler Department Chair; Associate Professor; Associate Curator-in-Charge, Near Eastern Section of the University Museum (Syro-Mesopotamian Archaeology) rzettler@sas.upenn.edu
Adjunct and Visiting Faculty    
Dr. Roger M.A. Allen Emeritus Professor of Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations (Modern Arabic Literature) rallen@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Ari Bergmann Lecturer in Hebrew & Jewish Studies ari@penso.com
Dr. Menachem Lorberbaum Lecturer in Hebrew & Jewish Studies menachem@post.tau.ac.il
Ms. Raha Rafii Lecturer in Arabic & Islamic Studies rafii@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Jennifer Houser Wegner Adjunct Assistant Professor of Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations (Egyptology) jhouser@sas.upenn.edu
Lecturers    
Dr. Ahmad Almallah Lecturer (Arabic Language) almallah@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Tajmah Assefi-Shirazi Lecturer (Persian Language and Literature) tajmah@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Joseph L. Benatov Lecturer in Foreign Language (Hebrew language) benatov@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Michael Carasik Lecturer (Biblical Hebrew) mcarasik@sas.upenn.edu
Ms. Ronit Engel Senior Lecturer in Foreign Language (Coordinator, Hebrew Language Program) ronit@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Mahyar Entezari Lecturer (Coordinator, Persian Language Program) entezari@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Feride Hatiboglu Lecturer in Foreign Language (Coordinator, Turkish Language Program) feride@sas.upenn.edu
Mr. Emad Rushdie Lecturer (Coordinator, Arabic Language Program) emad@sas.upenn.edu
Ms. Salwa Shishani Lecturer (Arabic Language) shishani@sas.upenn.edu
Mr. Ibrahim Miari Lecturer (Hebrew Language) imiari@sas.upenn.edu
Mr. Mbarek Sryfi Lecturer (Arabic Language) msryfi@sas.upenn.edu
Emeritus Faculty    
Roger M.A. Allen Emeritus Professor of Arabic Literature and the Sascha Jane Patterson Harvie Professor of Social Thought and Comparative Ethics rallen@sas.upenn.edu
Barry L. Eichler Emeritus Professor of Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations; Emeritus Curator-in-Charge Tablet Room - Babylonian Section, University Museum (Assyriology; Ancient Near East; Biblical and Jewish studies) beichler@sas.upenn.edu
William L. Hanaway Emeritus Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies (Persian) whanaway@mec.sas.upenn.edu
Erle V. Leichty Emeritus Clark Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies and Emeritus Curator, University Museum (Akkadian)  
James D. Muhly Emeritus Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies (Ancient Near Eastern history; Hittitology)  
Thomas Naff Emeritus Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies (Middle Eastern history) tnaff@sas.upenn.edu
David B. O'Connor Emeritus Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies and Emeritus Curator, Egyptian Section, University Museum doconnor@sas.upenn.edu
Jeffrey H. Tigay Emeritus Professor of Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations, Abraham M. Ellis Professor of Hebrew & Semitic Languages and Literatures (Biblical Studies) jtigay@sas.upenn.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maps

Find NELC buildings and locations with Campus Maps.

Campus Maps