Eugene Beier to Receive Panofsky Prize in Experimental Physics

November 6, 2009

The American Physical Society has announced that Eugene Beier, a Fay R. and Eugene L. Langberg Professor of Physics, will be the recipient of the 2010 W.K.H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Physics. The prize is the highest honor in experimental particle physics awarded by the Society. It is being presented to Beier in recognition of his contributions to the study of neutrino interactions.

Beier has performed experiments in nuclear physics and elementary particle physics for more than 30 years; for the past 25, his scientific effort has been focused on neutrino physics with the dual goals of measuring the interactions of neutrinos and determining their fundamental properties, particularly whether they have non-zero masses.

Beier will be formally presented with the prize and will deliver an invited lecture on his work at a meeting of the American Physical Society in Washington, D.C. in February. Other members of the Penn Physics faculty who received this honor in the past include Nigel Lockyer (2006) and Raymond Davis Jr. (1992).