Welcome to the Political Science Department

Penn’s Political Science Department is experiencing a renaissance. Over the past decade, our faculty has grown by 50%, an increase in quantity that has been matched by gains in quality. The strength of our faculty in each of four major subfields is being built with an eye to excellence embracing a variety of approaches and methodologies.

Welcome to the Political Science Department

The department’s combination of distinction and diversity has resulted in a rapid expansion of the undergraduate program and a newly invigorated Ph.D. program. Our faculty and graduate students play key roles in numerous centers and organizations across Penn’s campus whose missions bear on topics of interest to political scientists.

Welcome to the Political Science Department

We hope you will explore the website for a glimpse into the variety of our programs, activities, and classes, as well as an introduction to the accomplishments of the people who comprise the Political Science Department at Penn.

News & Announcements

The DP: Penn Expands Influence in DC

With programs like Penn in Washington, Penn Wharton Public Policy Initiative, and the Washington Semester Program, Penn's influence in Washington, D.C. is growing.

Gray Awarded Lepgold Prize

Professor Julia Gray has ben awarded the 2013 Lepgold Prize by Georgetown University’s Mortara Center for International Studies for her book The Company States Keep. This prize is awarded for the best book on international relations published in the previous year.  

DP: PSCI Major Co-founds Student-run Think Tank

Political Science major Neil Cholli C'16 co-founds student-run think tank, ENGAGE, to address Philadelphia social issues.

Gutmann: What is Democratic Deliberation

Penn president and professor Amy Gutmann wrote the book on deliberative democracy, literally. She explains what it is and the role it plays at the Bioethics Commission, which she chairs.

University of Pennsylvania
208 S. 37th Street, Room 217
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6215
Phone: (215) 898-7641

Edward Mansfield Chair
Matthew Levendusky Graduate Chair
John Lapinski Undergraduate Chair