Welcome to the Political Science Department

Penn’s Political Science Department is experiencing a renaissance. Over the past decade, our faculty has grown by 50%, an increase in quantity that has been matched by gains in quality. The strength of our faculty in each of four major subfields is being built with an eye to excellence embracing a variety of approaches and methodologies.

Welcome to the Political Science Department

The department’s combination of distinction and diversity has resulted in a rapid expansion of the undergraduate program and a newly invigorated Ph.D. program. Our faculty and graduate students play key roles in numerous centers and organizations across Penn’s campus whose missions bear on topics of interest to political scientists.

Welcome to the Political Science Department

We hope you will explore the website for a glimpse into the variety of our programs, activities, and classes, as well as an introduction to the accomplishments of the people who comprise the Political Science Department at Penn.

News & Announcements

O'Leary Featured on NPR's Radio Times

Professor Brendan O'Leary was a guest on WHYY's "Radio Times" program to discuss the crisis in Iraq.

Sil Recognized for APSA Labor Project Best Paper Award

Professor Rudra Sil's paper on Czech and Polish labor relations that was presented at the 2013 Annual Meeting of APSA, was awarded the Labor Project Best Paper Award.

Penn Launches Program for Opinion Research and Election Studies

Penn SAS Frontiers details the launch of the Penn Program for Opinion Research and Election Studies (PORES). It interviews Professor John Lapinski about how the program will give undergraduates a look under the hood of democracy.

Newsweek Interviews O'Leary on Kurdistan

Newsweek featured comments from Professor Brendan O'Leary in its article: "Can an Independent Kurdistan Reshape the Middle East?"

University of Pennsylvania
208 S. 37th Street, Room 217
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6215
Phone: (215) 898-7641

Edward Mansfield Chair
Matthew Levendusky Graduate Chair
John Lapinski Undergraduate Chair