Welcome to the Political Science Department

Penn’s Political Science Department is experiencing a renaissance. Over the past decade, our faculty has grown by 50%, an increase in quantity that has been matched by gains in quality. The strength of our faculty in each of four major subfields is being built with an eye to excellence embracing a variety of approaches and methodologies.

Welcome to the Political Science Department

The department’s combination of distinction and diversity has resulted in a rapid expansion of the undergraduate program and a newly invigorated Ph.D. program. Our faculty and graduate students play key roles in numerous centers and organizations across Penn’s campus whose missions bear on topics of interest to political scientists.

Welcome to the Political Science Department

We hope you will explore the website for a glimpse into the variety of our programs, activities, and classes, as well as an introduction to the accomplishments of the people who comprise the Political Science Department at Penn.

News & Announcements

Garlick Blogs for LSE

Political Science PhD student Alex Garlick writes about his research on the inclusion of party labels in local elections for the London School of Economics and Political Science blog.      

Mateo C'15 Selected Humanity in Action Fellow

Undergraduate Political Science major Katherine Mateo was selected for one of the 2015 Humanity in Action Fellowships. The program brings together international students to discuss human rights and minority issues.     

Perera Awarded Chateaubriand Fellowship

Political Science PhD student Isabel Perera was selected as a 2015-2016 Chateaubriand Fellow to support her dissertation research in France. 

CSCC Annual Conference Begins Tomorrow

The annual conference for the Center for the Study of Contemporary China is tomorrow through Friday, May 1. This year's conference is entitled "China in a Changing World."     

University of Pennsylvania
208 S. 37th Street, Room 217
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6215
Phone: (215) 898-7641

Edward Mansfield Chair
Matthew Levendusky Graduate Chair
John Lapinski Undergraduate Chair