Comparative Politics Workshop

Seminar

 Unless otherwise stated, all presentations begin at 12pm in the Silverstein Forum, Stiteler Hall, 208 S 37th Street at the University of Pennsylvania.

Thursday, September 5, 2013
James McGuire, Wesleyan University
"Conditional Cash Transfers in Bolivia: Origins, Impact, and Universality"

Thursday, October 3, 2013
Daniel Treisman, University of California, Los Angeles
"Income, Democracy, and Leader Turnover"

Friday, November 8, 2013
Jan Kubik, Rutgers University
"Civil Society, Protest Politics and the Consolidation of Democracy"

Thursday, December 5, 2013
Fotini Christia, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
"Do Elected Councils Improve Governance? Experimental Evidence on Local Institutions in Afghanistan"

Thursday, January 23, 2014
Elizabeth Zechmeister, Vanderbilt University
"The Public Opinion Consequences of Vote Buying in Latin America"

Thursday, February 6, 2014
Daniel Ziblatt, Harvard University
"The Strange Survival of British Conservatism and its Consequences for Democratization"

Wednesday, February 26, 2014
Cecilia Mo, Vanderbilt University
"Perceived Relative Poverty and Risk: An Aspiration-Based Model of Vulnerability"

Thursday, March 6, 2014
Jenn Larson, New York University
"Cheating Because They Can: Social Networks and Norm Violators"

Thursday, March 20, 2014
Margaret Levi, University of Washington
"In the Interest of Others: Organizations and Social Activism"

Thursday, April 10, 2014
Thad Dunning, University of California, Berkeley
"Building State Capacity: Positive vs. Negative Incentives for Tax Compliance"

Thursday, April 24, 2014
Nicholas Sambanis, Yale University
"Nation-Building Through War"

 

Internal Workshop Series

Monday, September 23, 2013
Rogers Smith and Meral Ugur Cinar
"Nation-Building Narratives: Implications for Immigrants and Minorities"

Monday, October 21, 2013
Robert Vitalis
"The Dark World Goes Free"

Monday, November 25, 2013
David Hsu
"Raise or Resist? Explaining Government Barriers to Temporary Migration during the Great Recession"

Monday, December 9, 2013 at 2:00 pm
Guy Grossman
"Descriptive Representation and Judicial Outcomes in Multi-Ethnic Societies"

Monday, February 24, 2014
Yuhua Wang
"Betting on a Princeling"

Monday, March 31, 2014
Ian Lustick
"Thinking Counterfactually and with Discipline: Agent-Based Modeling and the Study of International Relations"

Monday, April 28, 2014
Emmerich Davies
"The Competeing State: Using a Downstream Experiment to Understand the Effect of Service Privatization on Citizen Engagement in South India"

University of Pennsylvania
208 S. 37th Street, Room 217
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6215
Phone: (215) 898-7641

Edward Mansfield Chair
Matthew Levendusky Graduate Chair
John Lapinski Undergraduate Chair