Recent Ph.D. Placements

The following list demonstrates the types of jobs our graduating Ph.D. students have earned over the past decade in academia, as well as in think-tanks, government, and the private sector.

Tenure-Track Academic Positions (Year Started):

Chloe Bakalar, Temple University (2018) 

  Ellen Donnelly, University of Delaware (2017) 

  Alex Garlick, The College of New Jersey (2017)

Evan Perkoski, University of Connecticut (2017)  

Robinson Woodward-Burns, Howard University (2017) 

  Sarah Cate, University of Southern Mississippi (2016; at St. Louis  Univeristy in Fall 2018) 

Emmerich Davies, Harvard University (2016)

Andy Levin, Connecticut College (2016)

Daniel Moak, Ohio University (2016)

Elspeth Wilson, Franklin & Marshall College (2016)

Joshua Darr, Louisiana State University (2015)

Kimberly Fields, Valparaiso University (2015)

Ian Hartshorn, University of Nevada, Reno (2015)

Murad Idris, University of Virginia (2015) 

Mara Cecilia Ostfeld, University of Michigan (2015)

Rebecca Padot, Misericordia University (2015)

Thea Riofrancos, Providence College (2015)

David Bateman, Cornell University (2014)

Meral Ugur Cinar, Bilkent University, Turkey (2014)

Allison Evans, Western New Mexico University (2014; at University of Nevada, Reno in Fall 2018) 

Stephan Stohler, State University of New York, Albany (2014)

Barbara Elias, Bowdoin College (2013)

Dalei Jie, Peking University (2013)

Emily Thorson, George Washington University (2013; now at Syracuse University) 

Timothy Weaver, University of Louisville (2013; now at SUNY Albany) 

Rosella Cappella, Boston University (2012)

Anne-Marie D’Aoust, Universite du Quebec a Montreal (2012) 

Willie Gin, Xavier University of Louisiana (2012)

Sarah Salwen, Elon University (2012)

Ryan Grauer, University of Pittsburgh (2011)

Keren Yarhi-Milo, Princeton University (2010)

David Karpf, Rutgers University (2010; now at George Washington University)

Kaija Schilde, Boston University (2010)

Nori Katagiri, Air War College (2010; now at St. Louis University)

David Faris, Roosevelt University (2010)

Peter Funke, University of South Florida (2010)

Stefan Heumann, University of Northern Colorado (2009; now at Stiftung Neue Verantwortung, Berlin) 

Heon Joo Jung, Indiana University (2008)

Jane Gordon, Temple University (2008; now at University of Connecticut) 

Graham Dodds, Concordia University (2007)

Yongshik Bong, American University (2007) 

Ed Webb, Dickinson College (2007)

Stacey Philbrick Yadav, Hobart and William Smith College (2007)

Vikash Yadav, Hobart and William Smith College (2007)

Catherine Wilson, Villanova University (2007)

Amel Ahmed, University of Massachusetts, Amherst (2006) 

Michelle Commercio, University of Vermont (2006) 

Dan Miodownik, Hebrew University Jerusalem (2005)    

Robert Watkins, Columbia College, Chicago (2006)


Post-Doctoral Positions:

Alex Garlick, Congressional Fellow at the American Political Science  Association (2016)

Ellen Donnelly, University of Pennsylvania Post-doctoral Fellow (2016)

Başak Taraktaş, Northwestern University Buffet Institute Post- Doctoral Fellowship (2016) 

Evan Perkoski, Research Fellow, University of Denver's Korbel School  of International Studies (2016) 

Evan Perkoski, Research Fellow at Harvard Kennedy School's Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs (2015)

Chloe Bakalar, Values and Public Policy Postdoctoral Research Associate, Princeton University (2015)

 Jurgen Reinhoudt, Research Fellow at Harvard Kennedy School's Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs (2014)

Thea Riofrancos, Kellogg Institute for International Studies,  University of Notre Dame (2014)

Murad Idris, Society of Fellows in the Humanities, Columbia  University (2014)

David Bateman, Center for the Study of Democratic Politics, Princeton  University (2013-2014)

Mara Cecilia Ostfeld, Just Postdoctoral Fellowship, Ford School of  Public Policy, University of Michigan (2013)

Tim Junio, CISAC Pre-Doc/Post-Doc Fellowship, Center for  International Security and Collaboration, Stanford University  (2012-2014)

Rosella Cappella, Dickey Center for International Understanding,  Dartmouth College (2012)

Anne-Marie D’Aoust, Social Science and Humanities Research Council  Of Canada, Carleton University, Canada (2011)

Marton Markovitz, Lauder Institute, University of Pennsylvania (2010)

Dave Karpf, Taubman Center for Public Policy, Brown University  (2009)

Willie Gin, U.S. Studies Center, University of Sydney (2009) 


Think Tank, Administrative, and Private Sector Positions:

Ashley Tallevi, Facebook (2018) 
Sidney Rothstein, Visiting Professor, Haverford College (2018) 
Matt Kavanagh, Visiting Professor, Georgetown Law (2017) 
Osman Balkan, Visiting Professor, Swarthmore College (2016) 
Matthew Mongiello, Visiting Professor, McDaniel College (2016)
Laura Silver, United States State Department (2014; now at the Pew Research Center) 
Chris Russell, United States State Department (2014)
Alex Channer, Political Consultant and Translator, Kosovo (2012; now at Maplecroft) 

Eric Trager, The Washington Institute for Near East Policy (2012; now staff for the Senate Foreign Relations Committee) 

Lia Howard, Critical Writing Program, University of Pennsylvania (2011)

Todor Enev, Senior Analyst, PriceSpective (2011; now at Parexel)

Wendy Ginsberg, Congressional Research Service (2011; now at the Partnership for Public Service) 

Eric Hoyer, University of South Florida (2011)

Praveen Chaudhry, Indian Development Foundation (2010)  

Wambui Mwangi, Generation Kenya (2008)

Tristan Mabry, Naval Postgraduate School (2008; Senior Lecturer since 2012) 

Kimberly A. Fitch, Gallup Organization (2008) 

University of Pennsylvania
208 S. 37th Street, Room 217
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6215
Phone: (215) 898-7641

Anne Norton Chair
Matthew Levendusky Graduate Chair
Marc Meredith Undergraduate Chair