Welcome to the Political Science Department

Penn’s Political Science Department is experiencing a renaissance. Over the past decade, our faculty has grown by 50%, an increase in quantity that has been matched by gains in quality. The strength of our faculty in each of four major subfields is being built with an eye to excellence embracing a variety of approaches and methodologies.

Welcome to the Political Science Department

The department’s combination of distinction and diversity has resulted in a rapid expansion of the undergraduate program and a newly invigorated Ph.D. program. Our faculty and graduate students play key roles in numerous centers and organizations across Penn’s campus whose missions bear on topics of interest to political scientists.

Welcome to the Political Science Department

We hope you will explore the website for a glimpse into the variety of our programs, activities, and classes, as well as an introduction to the accomplishments of the people who comprise the Political Science Department at Penn.

News & Announcements

Grossman Keynotes Harvard PSCI Grad Conference

Professor Guy Grossman gave the keynote address for the 2017 Harvard Experimental Political Science Graduate Student Conference.     

Gorham Publishes in limn

Graduate student Ashley Gorham published an article on the political meaning of hacktivism in limn.     

Horowitz Quoted in The New York Times

In a New York Times article on the size of the US military, Professor Michael C. Horowitz discusses President Donald Trump's increase in military expenditure.     

O'Leary on the Future of UKEXIT

Professor Brendan O’Leary discusses the consequences and alternatives to UKEXIT, as well as his new book Understanding Northen Ireland: Passages from Colonialism to Consociation and Confederation, 1603-2017 in an interview with PennNews.     

University of Pennsylvania
208 S. 37th Street, Room 217
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6215
Phone: (215) 898-7641

Anne Norton Chair
Matthew Levendusky Graduate Chair
Marc Meredith Undergraduate Chair