GSWS Announces Annual Undergraduate Award Winners

April 15, 2019

GSWS is pleased to announce the recipients of the annual Carroll Smith-Rosenberg and Lydia S. Hart Awards.

The Smith-Rosenberg Award, named for Professor Carroll Smith-Rosenberg, a founder of Women's Studies at Penn, is awarded to a superior senior thesis paper in the field of Gender, Sexuality & Women's Studies. This year's awardee is Lea Eisenstein, for her thesis "From Icon to Bygone: The Rise and Fall of the Diaphragm in Twentieth-Century America.” The Senior Honors Thesis in Health and Societies was advised by Professors Beth Linker (GSWS/APC Executive Board) and Meghan Crnic. 

The Hart Award, named for sexuality studies pioneer Professor Lynda S. Hart, is awarded to an outstanding thesis or paper in the area of LGBTQ Studies. This year the Hart Award was co-presented to Brendan Taliaferro and Benjamin Chansky. Brendan Taliaferro's paper - the capstone of his Penn Civic Scholar project - is titled "Addressing an Epidemic: The Community Response to LGBTQ Youth Homelessness in Philadelphia." Benjamin Chansky's paper - his GSWS Honors Thesis - is titled "Investigations into Queer Experience: An Ethnographic Comparative Analysis Tracing the Development of Queer Identity from Adolescent High School to Young Adulthood at the University of Pennsylvania." Both projects were advised by GSWS/APC Executive Board Member, Professor Amy Hillier.