David Christianson Receives American Chemical Society Philadelphia Section Award

David Christianson, Roy and Diana Vagelos Professor in Chemistry and Chemical Biology and Department Chair

David W. Christianson, Roy and Diana Vagelos Professor in Chemistry and Chemical Biology and department chair, is the 2021 recipient of the American Chemical Society (ACS) Philadelphia Section Award, given to a member who has made important contributions to the field of chemistry and thereby aided the public appreciation of the profession. He will be honored and deliver a talk during a virtual ceremony on October 14.

Christianson’s research focuses on the structure and function of metal-requiring enzymes. In recent years, his work has illuminated complex molecular mechanisms in the biosynthesis of terpenes, a family of natural products that includes menthol, cholesterol, and the anticancer drug Taxol. He has been named an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Research Fellow, a Searle Scholar, and a Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar. Christianson’s other awards include the Repligen Award in Chemistry of Biological Processes and the Pfizer Award in Enzyme Chemistry from the Biological Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society. In 2017 he earned the Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching, the highest teaching honor at the University.

The mission of the ACS is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people. Its vision is to improve people’s lives through the transforming power of chemistry. The Philadelphia Section is one of the largest local sections in the ACS, with over 5000 members.


Arts & Sciences News

Arts & Sciences Alum Named Inaugural Samvid Scholar

Scholars were selected for their academic and leadership achievements, and for their drive to make positive changes in society.

View Article >
Fakhraai, Kozlowski Honored by American Chemical Society

Fakhraai will receive a Rising Star Award and Kozlowski an Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award.

View Article >
Zoe Zhao, Ph.D. Candidate in Sociology, Receives Young Scholar Award

Zhao is one of 10 recipients of the China Times Cultural Foundation Young Scholars Award, in recognition of her research on platform game work in China.

View Article >
National Academy of Medicine Welcomes Biology's Sarah A. Tishkoff

Election to the NAM is considered one of the highest honors in health and medicine and recognizes people who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

View Article >
Brighid Dwyer Named Inaugural Vice Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the School of Arts & Sciences

She will join Penn from Princeton University, where she has served as Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion in the Office of the Vice President for Campus Life since 2018.

View Article >
Biology's Michael Lampson Receives Grants From The National Institutes of Health

Along with Ben Black of the Perelman School of Medicine, Lampson was recognized with the Transformative Research Award.

View Article >