Jean-Christophe Cloutier Receives Award from Society of American Archivists

Jean-Christophe Cloutier, Assistant Professor of English

Jean-Christophe Cloutier, Assistant Professor of English, is the 2020 recipient of the Waldo Gifford Leland Award given by the Society of American Archivists (SAA) for his book, Shadow Archives: The Lifecycles of African American Literature. The award is given for writing of superior excellence and usefulness in the fields of archival history, theory, and practice.

In Shadow Archives: The Lifecycles of African American Literature, Cloutier uses a variety of African American novels as alternative repositories for the black experience. The book traces the development of Black special collections in mid-twentieth-century America, exploring how archival methodology, acquisition, and access shape literary history.

As an archivist and a researcher, Cloutier studies how leading 20th-century African American authors carefully preserved their individual writing, as well as the African American experience, in their novels. He provides an enlightening account of the unique challenges that many Black writers faced when trying to establish collections, which either clarified or reconfigured their legacies. Cloutier adeptly employs a cross-disciplinary model in his examination, skillfully moving between the archival and the literary.

“Based on a deep understanding of archival history, theory, and practice, Shadow Archives is a compelling analysis of the power of archives for truth-telling and scholarship that suggests future paths for research,” noted the nomination. “Given the lack of institutions dedicated to the black experience, the novel became an alternative site of historical preservation, a means to ensure both individual legacy and group survival.”

Established in 1959, the Waldo Gifford Leland Award is named for one of North America’s archival pioneers and SAA’s second president.


Arts & Sciences News

Penn Arts & Sciences 2021 Graduation Celebrations Schedule

Penn Arts & Sciences is honoring its 2021 graduates with virtual celebrations in May.

View Article >
Chinaza Ruth Okonkwo Awarded 2021 Beinecke Scholarship

The scholarship will support Okonkwo, C'22, as she pursues a graduate education

View Article >
Mutz Elected to National Academy of Sciences

The Samuel A. Stouffer Professor of Political Science and Communication has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

View Article >
Karen Detlefsen Named Vice Provost for Education

She is a professor of philosophy and education.

View Article >
College Senior Awarded Truman Scholarship

Sakshi Sehgal, C’21, has received a Harry S. Truman Scholarship, a merit-based award for graduate or professional school to prepare for a career in public service.

View Article >
Two Yenching Scholars for the College

Patrick Beyrer, C’21, G’21, and Brook Jiang, C’20, W’20, have been selected for the scholarship.

View Article >