National Academy of Medicine Welcomes Biology's Sarah A. Tishkoff


Sarah A. Tishkoff has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM), one of the highest honors in health and medicine. Election to the NAM recognizes people who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. She is among 100 new members elected this year by current members.

Tishkoff is David and Lynn Silfen University Professor in Penn Arts & Sciences’ Department of Biology and Perelman School of Medicine’s Department of Genetics, and is Director of Penn’s Center for Global Genomics and Health Equity. Her election recognizes her status as "a pioneer of African evolutionary genomics research.” Tishkoff's research combines field work, laboratory research, and computational methods to examine African population history and how genetic variation can affect a wide range of traits: for example, why humans have different susceptibility to disease, how they metabolize drugs, and how they adapt through evolution.

“It is my privilege to welcome this extraordinary class of new members. Their contributions to health and medicine are unmatched—they’ve made groundbreaking discoveries, taken bold action against social inequities, and led the response to some of the greatest public health challenges of our time,” said National Academy of Medicine President Victor J. Dzau.

Established originally as the Institute of Medicine in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the NAM addresses issues in health, science, medicine, and related policy and inspires actions across sectors. With their election, NAM members make a commitment to volunteer their service in National Academies activities.

Click here to view the full release.

Arts & Sciences News

Penn to Make Sweeping New Investments in Science

The funding includes includes major new commitments in support of key priorities at the School of Arts & Sciences.

View Article >
Max Wragan, C'22, named George J. Mitchell Scholar

She is the fifth Penn student to receive the scholarship since the inaugural class of Mitchell Scholars in 2001.

View Article >
Nicholas Thomas-Lewis, C’22, Named Rhodes Scholar

The Rhodes is highly competitive and one of the most prestigious scholarships in the world.

View Article >
School of Arts & Sciences Launches New Initiative in Data Driven Discovery

The initiative will be directed by Bhuvnesh Jain of Physics and Astronomy and Greg Ridgeway of Criminology.

View Article >
Michael Weisberg Named Bess W. Heyman President’s Distinguished Professor

Weisberg is an expert on the role of models in scientific inquiry and social ecology.

View Article >
Ph.D. Students Named Institute of Education Sciences Fellows

The program supports scholars conducting research that informs education policy and practice.

View Article >