Academic Calendar

You are here

The important dates below are scheduled by the College of Liberal and Professional Studies. Some deadlines and other dates may be different in other Penn Schools or Colleges.

Fall 2018 academic calendar and deadlines

Note: Penn LPS Online Program calendar available at:
https://www.sas.upenn.edu/lps/online/academic-calendar

New Student Orientation See information on orientation dates
Advance registration begins Monday, March 19
Classes begin Tuesday, August 28
Labor Day Monday, September 3
(no classes)
Last day to add language courses and writing seminars Friday, September 7
Last day to add a course Monday, September 17
Last day to drop a course with no financial obligation and no notation on transcript Monday, September 17
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due  Monday, September 17
Fall term break
Saturday classes will not meet
Thursday, October 4 -
Sunday, October 7
Fall term break ends; classes resume Monday, October 8
Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript. (LPS students must submit a Late Drop Form) Monday, October 8
Last day to change grade type status in a course (E-mail: lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request.) Friday, October 26
Advance registration for Spring term Monday, October 29 -
Sunday, November 11
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form Friday, November 9
Thu/Fri class schedule on Tue/Wed Tuesday, November 20 &
Wednesday, November 21
Thanksgiving break begins at 4:30 p.m.
LPS evening classes will not meet.
Wednesday, November 21
Thanksgiving break ends; classes resume Monday, November 26
Fall term classes end Monday, December 10
Reading days Tuesday, December 11 -
Wednesday, December 12
Final examinations Thursday, December 13 -
Thursday, December 20
Fall term ends Thursday, December 20

Back to top

 

Spring 2019 academic calendar and deadlines

Advance registration for the Spring term Monday, October 29 -
Sunday, November 11 (2018)
Classes begin (Monday class schedule on Wednesday)
Wednesday, January 16
(Monday classes)
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (observed) Monday, January 21
(no classes)
Last day to add writing or language course Friday, January 25
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due Monday, February 4
Last day to add a course Monday, February 4
Last day to drop a course with no financial obligation and no notation on the transcript. (After this date LPS students must contact the LPS office to drop a course or change grade type: grade to pass/fail; pass/fail to grade; credit to audit; audit to credit.) Monday, February 4
Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript. (LPS students must complete a Late Drop Form) Friday, February 22
Last day to change grade type status in a course (E-mail: lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request) Friday, February 22
Spring term break begins at close of classes (LPS classes on Saturday, March 2 will be held and there will be no classes on Saturday, March 9) Saturday, March 2
Spring term break ends; classes resume Monday, March 11
Advance registration for Fall term and registration for Summer classes
Monday, March 18 -
Sunday, March 31
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies. (LPS students must submit a Withdrawal Form) Friday, April 5
Spring term classes end Wednesday, May 1
Reading days Thursday, May 2 -
Sunday, May 5
Final examinations Monday, May 6 -
Tuesday, May 14
Spring Term ends Tuesday, May 14
LPS Graduation Sunday, May 19
University Commencement Monday, May 20

Back to top

 

Summer 2019 academic calendar and deadlines

  11-Week Summer Session Summer Session I Summer Session II
Course Registration Begins March 18 March 18 March 18
Classes begin May 28 May 28 July 5
No classes, university holiday July 4    
Last day to add a course/drop a course with no financial obligation

Tuition Reduction Request Forms due

June 11 June 4 July 12

Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript (LPS students must submit a Late Drop Form)

June 25 June 14 July 20

Last day to change grade type status in a course (E-mail: lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request.)

June 25 June 14 July 20
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form July 29 June 26 August 2
Classes end* August 9 July 3 August 9

**Summer Sessions do not have a set schedule for final exams. All exam dates are at the discretion of the course instructor. 

Back to top

The program you're looking for

Programs & Offerings

Explore all the academic programs that Penn LPS has to offer.

See Programs & Offerings >

Questions about finances?

Tuition and Financing

Learn about billing and the financial services Penn has to offer.

See Tuition & Financing >

Culture, community and city living

Campus Life

Explore everything Penn has to offer, including the vibrant city life of Philadelphia.

See Campus Life >

Penn LPS

The lifelong learning division of Penn Arts & Sciences

3440 Market Street, Suite 100
Philadelphia, PA 19104-3335

(215) 898-7326
lps@sas.upenn.edu

Facebook   Twitter   YouTube