Penn Symphony Orchestra Fall Concert

November 1, 2019 - 8:00pm
Irvine Auditorium, 3401 Spruce Street


Penn Music is pleased to present


Penn Symphony Orchestra

Thomas Hong, Music Director


This year's first orchestral program migrates musically from the fantastic sound world of France to the noble harmonic language of Germany.  The beloved Roman Carnival overture of French composer Hector Berlioz displays all of his strange and unpredictable tendencies while his twentieth century colleague Maurice Ravel showcases his command of orchestral colors in the highly virtuosic Daphnis et Chloé, suite no. 2.  Finally, we land with Beethoven's famous "Fifth" symphony, whose fateful opening 'four notes' (in actuality two notes where the first note is repeated three times) epitomizes motivic migration in music as it is interwoven throughout the entire symphony.  However, this work needs no further explanation because it is one of the most popular symphonies of all time!



Hector Berlioz, Roman Carnival Overture

Maurice Ravel, Daphnis and Chloe, Suite No. 2

Ludwig van Beethoven, Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67


Admission is free with PennCard; $5 general admission