Recital of students in Music 236 (Performance, Analysis, History)

April 29, 2019 - 8:00pm - 9:15pm
Rose Recital Hall, 3340 Walnut Street, Room 419

Music 236 “Performance, Analysis, History”

Instructor: Jamuna Samuel

With members of the Daedalus Quartet and Yu Xi Wang (piano)


Music by Franz Schubert (except for IV.)


String trio in B flat, D. 581.

First movement: Allegro moderato. Second movement: Andante.

Cassidy Mazurek, violin; Eric Selzer, viola; Matthew Peters, cello.


Sonata for Arpeggione in A minor, arranged for viola and piano, D. 821.

First movement: Allegro moderato.

Saagar Asnani, viola and Lauren Nguyen, piano.


Piano trio in E flat, op. 100, D. 929.

First movement: Allegro. Second movement: Andante con moto.

Ethan Zhao, violin; Evan Jiang, cello; Shiqiao Candy Yin, piano.


Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata for cello and piano in F major, op. 5 no. 1.

First movement: Adagio sostenuto--Allegro.

Justin Blum, cello and Jasmine Chen, piano.


Piano Quintet in A major, op. 114, D. 667, “Trout.”

First movement: Allegro vivace. Second movement: Theme and variations, Andante.

Grace Knight, violin; Saagar Asnani, viola; Jason Shu, cello; John Wallison, double bass; Lauren Nguyen, piano.


String Quartet no. 14 in D minor, D. 810, “Death and the Maiden.”

First movement, Allegro. Second movement, Andante con moto.

Brittany Xiao and Anthony Brown-Norton, violins; Chitose Wakamiya, viola; Victoria Yin, cello.


Quintet in C major, op. 163, D. 956, “Cello Quintet.”

First movement: Allegro ma non troppo

Ethan Zhao and Grace Knight, violins; Chitose Wakamiya, viola; Justin Blum and Victoria Yin, cellos.