Penn logo

 

Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations (NELC)

 

Faculty

 

Standing Faculty    
Dr. Dan Ben-Amos Professor of African, Jewish and Middle Eastern Folklore dbamos@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Paul M. Cobb Professor of Medieval Islamic History pmcobb@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Isabel Cranz Assistant Professor of Biblical Studies icranz@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Huda Fakhreddine
Assistant Professor of Arabic Literature hudaf@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Talya Fishman Associate Professor of Medieval and Early Modern Jewish Intellectual and Cultural History tfishman@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Grant Frame Graduate Chair;
Associate Professor of Assyriology
gframe@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Nili Gold Associate Professor of Modern Hebrew Language & Literature niligold@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Emily Hammer Assistant Professor of Digital Humanities, Archeology and Anthropology of the Ancient World ehammer@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Joseph E. Lowry Associate Professor of Medieval Islam and Islamic Law elowry@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Fatemeh Shams Assistant Professor of Persian Literature fshams@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Heather Sharkey Professor of Modern Islamic History hsharkey@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. David P. Silverman Eckley Brinton Coxe, Jr. Professor of Egyptology; Curator, Egyptian Section, University Museum dsilverm@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Stephen J. Tinney Undergraduate Chair; Clark Research Associate Professor of Assyriology (Sumerian); Associate Curator, Babylonian Section, University Museum stinney@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Josef W. Wegner Associate Professor; Assistant Curator, Egyptian Section, University Museum (Egyptology, Egyptian Archaeology) jwegner@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Richard L. Zettler Department Chair; Associate Professor; Associate Curator-in-Charge, Near Eastern Section of the University Museum (Syro-Mesopotamian Archaeology) rzettler@sas.upenn.edu
Adjunct and Visiting Faculty    
Dr. Roger M.A. Allen Emeritus Professor of Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations (Modern Arabic Literature) rallen@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Ari Bergmann Lecturer in Hebrew & Jewish Studies ari@penso.com
Dr. Jennifer Houser Wegner Adjunct Assistant Professor of Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations (Egyptology) jhouser@sas.upenn.edu
Lecturers    
Dr. Ahmad Almallah Coordinator, Arabic Language Progam; Lecturer in Foreign Languages (Arabic Language) almallah@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Tajmah Assefi-Shirazi Lecturer (Persian Language and Literature) tajmah@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Joseph L. Benatov Lecturer in Foreign Languages (Hebrew language) benatov@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Michael Carasik Lecturer (Biblical Hebrew) mcarasik@sas.upenn.edu
Ms. Ronit Engel Senior Lecturer in Foreign Languages (Coordinator, Hebrew Language Program) ronit@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Mahyar Entezari Coordinator, Persian Language Program; Lecturer in Foreign Languages (Persian Language) entezari@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Feride Hatiboglu Coordinator, Turkish Language Program; Lecturer in Foreign Languages (Turkish Language) feride@sas.upenn.edu
Mr. Emad Rushdie Lecturer in Foreign Languages (Arabic Language) emad@sas.upenn.edu
Ms. Salwa Shishani Lecturer (Arabic Language) shishani@sas.upenn.edu
Mr. Ibrahim Miari Lecturer in Foreign Languages (Hebrew Language) imiari@sas.upenn.edu
Dr. Mbarek Sryfi Lecturer in Foreign Languages (Arabic Language) msryfi@sas.upenn.edu
Emeritus Faculty    
Roger M.A. Allen Emeritus Professor of Arabic Literature and the Sascha Jane Patterson Harvie Professor of Social Thought and Comparative Ethics rogermaallen@gmail.com
Barry L. Eichler Emeritus Professor of Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations; Emeritus Curator-in-Charge Tablet Room - Babylonian Section, University Museum (Assyriology; Ancient Near East; Biblical and Jewish studies) beichler@sas.upenn.edu
William L. Hanaway Emeritus Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies (Persian) whanaway@mec.sas.upenn.edu
James D. Muhly Emeritus Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies (Ancient Near Eastern history; Hittitology)  
Thomas Naff Emeritus Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies (Middle Eastern history) tnaff@sas.upenn.edu
David B. O'Connor Emeritus Professor of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies and Emeritus Curator, Egyptian Section, University Museum doconnor@sas.upenn.edu
Jeffrey H. Tigay Emeritus Professor of Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations, Abraham M. Ellis Professor of Hebrew & Semitic Languages and Literatures (Biblical Studies) jtigay@sas.upenn.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maps

Find NELC buildings and locations with Campus Maps.

Campus Maps