Fakhraai, Kozlowski Honored by American Chemical Society

Chemistry’s Zahra Fakhraai and Marisa Kozlowski

Chemistry’s Zahra Fakhraai and Marisa Kozlowski will be honored by the American Chemical Society, one of the world’s largest scientific organizations, with more than 155,000 members in 150 countries.

Fakhraai, an associate professor of chemistry, will receive a Rising Star Award from the American Chemical Society Women Chemists Committee (WCC). The WCC Rising Star Award recognizes up to 10 female-identifying individuals approaching mid-level careers who have demonstrated outstanding promise for contributions to their respective fields. Fakhraai studies the effect of nano-confinement and interfacial interactions on the structure, dynamics, and other properties of nanostructured materials. She received her Ph.D. in physics from the University of Waterloo, in Ontario, Canada, and joined Penn’s faculty in 2017. Read more about the award here.

Kozlowski, a professor of chemistry, will receive an Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award from the American Chemical Society. The award recognizes and encourages excellence in organic chemistry. Ten Arthur C. Cope Scholars are named each year. Kozlowski’s work focuses on rational design of new methods and catalysts for use in organic synthesis. She was elected a fellow of the American Chemical Society in 2013. Read more about the Cope Award here.


Arts & Sciences News

Penn to Make Sweeping New Investments in Science

The funding includes includes major new commitments in support of key priorities at the School of Arts & Sciences.

View Article >
2022 Penn Grad Talks

The annual program is seeking submissions from Penn Arts & Sciences doctoral and master's students.

View Article >
Max Wragan, C'22, named George J. Mitchell Scholar

She is the fifth Penn student to receive the scholarship since the inaugural class of Mitchell Scholars in 2001.

View Article >
Nicholas Thomas-Lewis, C’22, Named Rhodes Scholar

The Rhodes is highly competitive and one of the most prestigious scholarships in the world.

View Article >
School of Arts & Sciences Launches New Initiative in Data Driven Discovery

The initiative will be directed by Bhuvnesh Jain of Physics and Astronomy and Greg Ridgeway of Criminology.

View Article >
Michael Weisberg Named Bess W. Heyman President’s Distinguished Professor

Weisberg is an expert on the role of models in scientific inquiry and social ecology.

View Article >