Ishmail Abdus-Saboor Receives Grant from the Rita Allen Foundation

Ishmail Abdus-Saboor, Mitchell J. Blutt and Margo Krody Blutt Presidential Assistant Professor of Biology

Ishmail Abdus-Saboor, Mitchell J. Blutt and Margo Krody Blutt Presidential Assistant Professor of Biology, has been named a member of the 2020 class of Award in Pain Scholars by the Rita Allen Foundation. The award celebrates four early-career leaders in the biomedical sciences whose research holds exceptional promise for revealing new pathways to understand and treat chronic pain.

The selected scholars will receive grants of $50,000 annually for up to three years to conduct innovative research on critical topics on the biological mechanisms of pain—including how the nervous system distinguishes between soft and harsh stimuli, what role the immune system plays in chronic pain, and what makes individuals at risk for chronic pain after a traumatic injury. Two awards are supported by the Rita Allen Foundation and two are supported by Open Philanthropy.

“My research focuses on a long-standing question—how does the nervous system encode a soft gentle caress versus a harsh painful stimulation?” says Abdus-Saboor. “To accomplish this, I use neurobiology, computational biology, and mathematics to objectively measure pain—a sensory experience that is inherently subjective.”

To read more about the award and the full interview with Abdus-Saboor, click here.


Arts & Sciences News

Laurin Bixby Named Health Policy Research Scholar

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s leadership programs connect changemakers across the country.

View Article >
Amy Offner Wins Inaugural Hunt Prize in International History

Amy Offner, Assistant Professor of History, has been awarded the inaugural Michael H. Hunt Prize in International History by the Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations.

View Article >
Penn Professors Receive 2020 NYC Coalition for the Homeless Compassionate Community Award

Melissa E. Sanchez of Penn Arts & Sciences and Corrine Low of Wharton lead the Upper West Side Open Hearts Initiative.

View Article >
Kane Shares in Fudan-Zhongzhi Science Award

Charles Kane, Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Physics, was honored for pioneering contributions that generated the field of topological insulators.

View Article >
Christopher B. Murray Named Citation Laureate

Since the award’s inception in 2002, 54 Citation Laureates have gone on to receive a Nobel Prize.

View Article >
Joan DeJean Named Fellow of the British Academy

DeJean, Trustee Professor of French, joins a cohort of exceptional scholars in the humanities and social sciences.

View Article >