Saint-Amour Named Walter H. and Leonore C. Annenberg Professor in the Humanities

Paul Saint-Amour, Professor of English, has been appointed Walter H. and Leonore C. Annenberg Professor in the Humanities. A leading scholar of Victorian and modernist literature, Saint-Amour has been a fellow at the Stanford Humanities Center, the Center for the Humanities at Cornell, and the National Humanities Center. His book The Copywrights: Intellectual Property and the Literary Imagination won the Modern Literature Association’s Prize for a First Book, and his most recent book, Tense Future: Modernism, Total War, Encyclopedic Form, won the Modernist Studies Association Book Prize and the MLA's first annual Matei Calinescu Prize. His articles have appeared in journals such as Critical Inquiry, Diacritics, Modernism/modernity, PMLA, Representations, and many more.

Saint-Amour has served as President of the Modernist Studies Association. At Penn, he has served as Graduate Director of English and as a member of the Committee on Academic and Related Affairs, the Critical Writing Committee, and the University Scholars Council.

The late Ambassador Walter H. Annenberg received Penn’s Alumni Award of Merit in 1991. He and the late Honorable Leonore Annenberg were both emeritus trustees of the University. The Annenbergs endowed many chairs in Penn Arts and Sciences and made countless generous contributions to the University. They also founded the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Pennsylvania in 1958.

Arts & Sciences News

Psychology’s Thompson-Schill and Kahana Honored

Two Penn Arts and Sciences faculty members were recently honored with the Psychonomic Society Mid-Career Award, given for exceptional contributions to the field of experimental and cognitive psychology.

View Article >
John Lapinski to be named the Robert A. Fox Leadership Professor of Political Science

John Lapinski will be named the Robert A. Fox Leadership Professor of Political Science and the director of the Robert A. Fox Leadership Program effective July 1, 2018.

View Article >
Recipients of the 2018 Penn Prize for Excellence in Teaching by Graduate Students Announced

Eight graduate students from Penn Arts and Sciences to receive the prestigious award.

View Article >
Joseph S. Francisco Named President’s Distinguished Professor of Earth and Environmental Science

Joseph S. Francisco will join Penn as the President’s Distinguished Professor of Earth and Environmental Science, with a secondary appointment in the Department of Chemistry, on July 1, 2018.

View Article >
Michael C. Horowitz Awarded Department of Defense Grant to Lead Team on Study of Autonomous Systems and AI

Michael C. Horowitz, Professor of Political Science, will oversee the study of autonomous systems and artificial intelligence.

View Article >
Earthquakes at the Nanoscale

In collaboration with Robert Carpick and David Goldsby, Tian, who graduated from Penn in 2017 with a doctorate in physics, recently published a paper in Physical Review Letters which attempts to tackle these devastating natural phenomena by investigating the laws of friction at the smallest possible scale, the nanoscale.

View Article >