Serena Stein Garners Undergraduate Anthropology Prizes

Serena Stein, an anthropology and comparative literature double major who is graduating in December 2009, recently received two prestigious undergraduate anthropology prizes.

Stein was presented with the Rudolf Virchow Undergraduate Student Paper Award by the Society for Medical Anthropology, a section of the American Anthropological Association, at the association's meeting in December. The award was given for her undergraduate thesis, "Health at the Margins: Distress and Illness after the 2005 Mudslide in Santiago Atitlán, Guatamala."

Stein also won the Carrie Hunter-Tate Award from the National Association of Student Anthropologists. The award recognizes a student anthropologist each year who demonstrates enthusiasm for service to the profession through both academic and professional achievements.

In addition, Stein was Penn's 2009 recipient of the Beinecke Scholarship, awarded last spring. The scholarship is awarded to students who plan to enter a master's or doctoral program in the arts, humanities or social sciences, and have demonstrated intellectual ability, scholastic achievement and personal promise. Recipients are nominated from 100 invited colleges and universities; 21 new scholarships were awarded in 2009.

Stein, who was both a Benjamin Franklin and University Scholar, travelled to the Santiago Atitlán, Guatemala with the Guatemala Health Initiative in 2008 to research questions of distress and medicalization among Tzutujil Maya survivors of the 2005 Hurricane Stan mudslide. Stein noted that this research experience "really opened my eyes to the complexities of disaster relief and the distress that humanitarian aid shortcomings can produce." Following her December graduation, Stein plans to work in Brazil on tuberculosis treatment programs in a poor community in Rio de Janeiro and go on to graduate studies in England in the fall.

Arts & Sciences News

The Power of Penn Arts & Sciences

On April 12, 2018, the Power of Penn Arts & Sciences fundraising campaign was announced by the Board of Overseers. Launched in conjunction with the University’s Power of Penn campaign, it aims to raise $550 million for the School of Arts and Sciences.

View Article >
2018 Penn Arts and Sciences Dean’s Scholars

Penn Arts and Sciences has named 20 students from the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Liberal and Professional Studies, and the Graduate Division as Dean’s Scholars. This honor is presented annually to students who exhibit exceptional academic performance and intellectual promise.

View Article >
Joseph Subotnik Named Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Term Professor

Joseph Subotnik, Professor of Chemistry, has been named Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Term Professor of Chemistry. A theoretical chemist who focuses on electronic processes in the condensed phase, Dr. Subotnik has made key contributions in electronic structure theory, chemical dynamics, and statistical mechanics.

View Article >
Two Penn Arts and Sciences Professors Named Guggenheim Fellows

Charles L. Bosk, Professor of Sociology, and Charles Yang, Professor of Linguistics and Computer Science, have been awarded 2018 John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation fellowships.

View Article >
Ahmad Family Endowment Supports Penn Global Seminars

Hyder Ahmad, W’90, and his family have made a generous gift to establish the Ahmad Family Endowment for Penn Global Seminars in Arts and Sciences.

View Article >
Abraham Nitzan Named Donner Professor of Physical Sciences

Abraham Nitzan, Professor of Chemistry, has been named Donner Professor of Physical Sciences. Nitzan’s research focuses on the interaction of light with molecular systems, chemical reactions in condensed phases and interfaces and charge transfer processes in such environments.

View Article >
2018 Teaching Award Recipients Announced

Steven J. Fluharty, Dean of Penn Arts and Sciences, and Paul Sniegowski, Stephen A. Levin Family Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, have announced the recipients of the 2018 awards for distinguished teaching in the School.

View Article >
College Graduation Speakers for 2018 Revealed

Angela Duckworth, G’03, GR’06, Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Psychology, will address the Class of 2018 at the graduation ceremony for the College of Arts and Sciences on Sunday, May 13, 2018. She will be joined by student speaker Helena von Nagy, C’18.

View Article >
Individualized Care Will Become the Standard for Depression Patients

In a new paper for the Annual Review of Clinical Psychology, researchers Robert DeRubeis, Samuel H. Preston Term Professor in the Social Sciences, and Zachary Cohen of Psychology, address precision medicine, also known as customized-care, in the context of treatment for depression.

View Article >
Restoring Vacant Lots Reduces Gun Violence and Crime

In cities across the U.S., about 15 percent of land is considered vacant or abandoned. These areas can foster criminal activity, and urban residents, especially those in low-income neighborhoods, often view vacant land as a threat to their health and safety.

View Article >
Robert DeRubeis: Samuel H. Preston Term Professor in the Social Sciences

Professor of Psychology Robert DeRubeis has been named the Samuel H.

View Article >