Three Penn Arts and Sciences Faculty Receive Awards From American Physical Society

APS Awards

Three Penn Arts and Sciences researchers have been awarded prizes by the American Physical Society (APS). The recipients are Zahra Fakhraai, Associate Professor and Graduate Chair in Chemistry; Marsha I. Lester, Edmund J. Kahn Distinguished Professor in Chemistry; and Abraham Nitzan, Donner Professor of Physical Sciences and Professor of Chemistry.

One of the largest scholarly societies and journal publishers in physics, APS annually honors members of the scientific community in the United States and abroad who are making lasting contributions in physics and its subfields and specialties.

Fakhraai received the APS John H. Dillon Medal for outstanding accomplishment and unusual promise in research in polymer physics. APS recognized Fakhraai for her "exceptional investigations of surface effects in polymer glasses and amyloid aggregation."

Lester received the APS Herbert P. Broida Prize in recognition of her outstanding contribution to the field of chemical physics. Lester received the honor for her work in “the development of innovative methods for generating and characterizing reactive intermediates using sophisticated laser techniques that elucidate important reaction pathways in atmospheric and combustion chemistry."

The APS Earle K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy and Dynamics was received by Nitzan. He was recognized by APS for his notable contributions to molecular spectroscopy and dynamics and for his “deep physical insights in the fields of surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy and molecular electronics."


Arts & Sciences News

2019 Global Inquires Fund Grants Announced

The grants support a variety of activities including research, conferences, workshops, and course development.

View Article >
Subotnik a Finalist for National Chemistry Award

Joseph Subotnik, Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Term Professor of Chemistry, is a finalist for the 2019 Blavatnik National Award for Young Scientists.

View Article >
Michael Weisberg is the Inaugural Penn Faculty Fellow at Perry World House

Weisberg, Professor of Philosophy, will be in residence at Perry World House for the 2019-20 academic year.

View Article >
Penn Arts and Sciences 2019 Graduation Ceremonies Schedule

College of Arts & Sciences, Graduate Division, College of Liberal & Professional Studies, and Fels Institute of Government

View Article >
Martine Haas Appointed Director of the Lauder Institute

Provost Wendell Pritchett is pleased to announce the appointment of Martine Haas as the Anthony L. Davis Director of the Joseph H. Lauder Institute for Management and International Studies.

View Article >
2019 Making a Difference in Diverse Communities Grants Announced

Through a combination of coursework, research, and service, the projects address issues of diversity and inequality at the local, national, and international level.

View Article >