Penn A&S masthead

spacer image

On Campus

First Lady’s Favorite Book

Time magazine reported that Laura Bush found the book Pearl S. Buck: A Cultural Biography to be a favorite for her summer reading. English professor and deputy provost Peter Conn is the author of the First Lady’s pick.

New SAS Overseer
Newly appointed overseer Richard H. Sabot, C’66, is the founder of, an Internet retailer of handicrafts by artisans from developing countries. An economics major in the College, where he received the Thouron Award and graduated Phi Beta Kappa, he also holds a doctorate in development economics from Oxford University. Sabot is a specialist in international economics and has worked for the Oxford Institute of Economics and Statistics, the World Bank, the International Food Policy Institute, and the Inter-American Development Bank. He is the John J. Gibson Professor of Economics Emeritus at Williams College.

2001 Teaching Award Wrap Up
The Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching included two SAS faculty: David Brownlee, professor of history of art, and Sheldon Hackney, professor of history.

Ivar Berg of the sociology department and Philip Nelson of the department of physics and astronomy were selected as winners of this year’s Ira Abrams Award for Distinguished Teaching.

For the fourth year in a row, the Kahn Award for Educational Excellence was given to the department of history.

Millicent Marcus, from the department of Romance languages, was the recipient of the Dean’s Award for Innovation in Teaching.

The Kahn Award for Distinguished Teaching went to David Koerner of the department of physics and astronomy.

For his work in the Theatre Arts Program, Cary Mazer in the English department received the Dean’s Award for Mentorship of Research.

The Senior Class Award for Teaching went to Alan Mann, who teaches physical anthropology.

The Dean’s Award for Distinguished Teaching was presented to Paulina Alberto of history, Jennifer Ebbeler of classical studies, Robert Kane of history, Michelle Lamas of comparative literature, Samuel Trieu Nguyen of mathematics, Brandy O’Neil of anthropology, Mark Sample of comparative literature, James Saporito of history, Juliet Shields of English, and Kiernan Snyder of linguistics.

Tom Wolfe




Panels of alumnae authors and editors nurses and doctors, CEOs and educators are just a little of what will be featured during the two days preceding Homecoming 2001. Invitations are in the mail.

For further information contact Bonnie A. Eisner, 125th Celebration Special Event Coordinator, at 215-898-7811
or or visit the website.

Bennett Hall

Return to Table of Contents