Penn A&S masthead

1996 SAS Faculty Honors

Teaching Awards

Lindback Awards
Daniel Deudney, political science
Elizabeth Johns, history of art
James O'Donnell, classical studies

Ira Abrams Award for Distinguished Teaching
Drew Faust, history

College Alumni Society Outstanding Teaching Award
Alan E. Mann, anthropology

Camille Dreyfus Foundation Teacher-Scholar Award
Timothy Swager, chemistry

Mathematical Association of America Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics
Herbert S. Wilf, mathematics

Mortarboard Alumni Society Award for Distinguished Teaching
Peter Conn, English

Professional Societies' Elected Members

American Academy for Jewish Research
David Ruderman, history - elected vice president

American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Douglas Massey, sociology
Richard Schultz, biology

American Academy of South Asian Studies
Sumathi Ramaswamy, history

American Institute of Iranian Studies
Brian Spooner, anthropology - elected president

Council on Foreign Relations
Tom Callaghy, political science

Econometric Society
George J. Mailath, economics
Rafael Rob, economics
Kenneth I. Wolpin, economics

English Folklore Society
Roger Abrahams, folklore & folklife

Franklin Inn Philadelphia's Old Authors Club
Nathan Sivin, history and sociology of science - elected president

Institute of Medicine
Jane Menken, sociology
Frank Furstenberg, sociology

MAIESTAS: Rulership, Souverainete, Herrschertum
Ed Peters, history - elected vice president

Population Association of America
Douglas Massey, sociology - elected president

Scientific and Research Council of Turkey
Fevzi Daldal, biology

Society of Music Perception and Cognition
Eugene Narmour, music - elected president

Sociological Research Association
Jane Menken, sociology - elected president

Honorary Degrees

Hebrew Union College Jewish Institute of Religion
David Ruderman, history

Smith College
Fay Ajzenberg-Selove, physics and astronomy

University of Frankfurt
Abraham Klein, physics and astronomy

University of Minnesota
Daniel Janzen, biology

University of Wisconsin at Madison
Ralph Hirshmann, chemistry

Fellowships, Awards and Grants

ACLS Grant
Judith McGaw, history and sociology of science

Agency for Health Care Policy and Research Grant
Linda Aiken, sociology

American Chemical Society Philadelphia Section Award
Hai-Lung Dai, chemistry

American Institute of Pakistan Studies Grant
Michael W. Meister, history of art

American Mathematical Society Centennial Fellowship
Alexander Voronov, mathematics

American Political Science Association Section on Politics and History J. David Greenstone Award
Ian Lustick, political science

American Psychological Society James McKeen Cattell Award
Martin E. P. Seligman, psychology

American Sociological Association Section on Culture Annual Prize for Best Article in Cultural Sociology
Mabel Berezin, sociology

Asian Cultural Council Research Grant
Marina Roseman, music

Association for the Social Scientific Study of Jewry
Marshall Sklare Memorial Award

Samuel Klausner, sociology

Auburn University Quality of Life Award
Lawrence Klein, economics

Baxter Foundation Grant
Linda Aiken, sociology

Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library John D. and Rose H. Jackson Fellowship
Nancy Bentley, English

Belgium Chevalier of the Order of Leopold II
Rene Fox, sociology

Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences Fellowship
Jane Menken, sociology

Choice Research Libraries Journal Outstanding Academic Book Award
Judith McGaw, history and sociology of science

E. I. DuPont de Nemours Young Faculty Award
Michael Therien, chemistry

Ford Foundation Grant in the Humanities
Houston Baker, English

Fulbright 50th Anniversary Distinguished Fellow
Houston Baker, English

German Marshall Fund of the United States Senior Research Fellowship
Mabel Berezin, sociology

Guggenheim Fellowships
Dorothy Cheney, biology
Margreta de Grazia, English
Moshe Lewin, history
E. Ann Matter, religious studies
John Roberts, folklore & folklife
Marina Roseman, music

Padmavathy & Noth Guthikonda Memorial Award
Ralph Hirshmann, chemistry

Harvard Graduate School of Arts and Sciences Centennial Medal
Paul Guyer, philosophy

History of Science Society George Sarton Medal
Charles Rosenberg, history andb sociology of science

Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Research Award
Michael Klein, chemistry
Burt Ovrut, physics and astronomy

Huntington Library Fellowship
Michael Gamer, English

International Festival of Contemporary Music

Jay Reise, music

International Symposium of Free Radicals Broida Prize
Marsha Lester, chemistry

Japanese Society Promotion of Science Fellowship
Yoshitaka Suyama, biology

William R. Kenan, Jr. Charitable Trust Kenan Enterprise Award
Edwin Mansfield, economics

Linguistic Society of America Bloomfield Prize
William Labov, linguistics

Edward MacDowell Gold Medal in Composition
George Crumb, music

March of Dimes Bail O'Connor Starter Scholar Research Award
Nancy Bonini, biology

Medieval Academy Haskins Medal
Siegfried Wenzel, English

National Endowment for the Humanities Faculty Research Fellowship
Robert B. St. George, folklore & folklife

National Endowment for the Humanities Focus Grant
Peter Conn, English

National Endowment for the Humanities Grant
Richard Zettler, anthropology

National Geographic Society Research Award
Richard Zettler, anthropology

National Institute of Aging MERIT Award
Samuel Preston, sociology

National Institutes of Health First Award
Nancy Bonini, biology

Newberry Library of Chicago Fellowship
Toni Bowers, English

Pennsylvania Psychological Association Award for Distinguished Contribution to Science and the Profession
Martin E. P. Seligman, psychology

Radcliffe College Mary Ingraham Bunting Institute Fellowship
Farah Griffin, English
Marsha Lester, chemistry

Rockefeller Foundation Archive Center Grant
M. Susan Lindee, history and sociology of science

Rockefeller Foundation Scholar in Residence, Bellagio, Italy
Richard Beeman, history
Margreta de Grazia, English

SAS Center for Judaic Studies Fellowship
Robert A. Kraft, religious studies

Schomburg Institute for Research in Black Culture Fellowship
Farah Griffin, English

Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship
Alan Johnson, physics and astronomy
Stephen Morris, economics
Michael Therien, chemistry

Society for Conservation Biology Conservation Biology Award
Daniel Janzen, biology

Southwest Book Award
Douglas Massey, sociology

University of Pennsylvania Research Foundation Fellowship
Regina Bendix, folklore & folklife
Susan Sidlauskas, history of art
Robert B. St. George, folklore & folklife
Deborah Wong, music

University of Pennsylvania Trustees' Council of Penn Women Award for Outstanding Scholarship
Marina Roseman, music

Return to Table of Contents