Academic Calendar

You are here

The important dates below are scheduled by the College of Liberal and Professional Studies. Some deadlines and other dates may be different in other Penn Schools or Colleges.

Spring 2017 academic calendar and deadlines

Advance registration for the Spring term Monday, October 31 - Sunday, November 13 (2016)
Classes begin (Monday class schedule on Wednesday)
Wednesday, January 11
(Monday classes)
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (observed) Monday, January 16
(no classes)
Last Day to Add Writing or Language Course Friday, January 20
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due Monday, January 30
Last Day to Add a Course Monday, January 30
Last Day to Drop a Course with No Financial Obligation and No Notation on the Transcript. (After this date LPS students must contact the LPS office to drop a course or change grade type: grade to pass/fail; pass/fail to grade; credit to audit; audit to credit.) Monday, January 30
Last Day to Drop a Course with 50% Financial Obligation and No Notation on Transcript. (LPS students must complete a Late Drop Form) Friday, February 17
Last Day to Change Grade Type Status in a Course (E-mail lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request) Friday, February 17
Spring Recess Begins at Close of Classes (LPS classes on Saturday, March 4 will be held and there will be no classes on Saturday, March 11) Saturday, March 4
Spring Recess ends; Classes resume Monday, March 13
Advance Registration for Fall term and Registration for Summer Classes
Monday, March 20 - Sunday, April 2
Last Day to Withdraw from a Course. Full financial obligation applies. (LPS students must submit a Withdrawal Form) Friday, March 24
Spring term classes end Wednesday, April 26
Reading days Thursday, April 27 - Friday, April 28
Final examinations Monday, May 1 - Tuesday, May 9
Grades due Friday, May 12 (noon)
LPS Graduation Sunday, May 14
University Commencement Monday, May 15

Back to top

Summer 2017 academic calendar and deadlines

  11-Week Summer Session Summer Session I Summer Session II
Course Registration Begins March 20 March 20 March 20
Last Day for International Students to Submit Application April 1 April 1 May 1
Open Enrollment Form Deadline May 12 May 12 June 23
Classes Begin May 22 May 22 June 29
No classes, university holiday July 4   July 4
Last Day to Add a Course/Drop a Course with No Financial Obligation June 5 May 30 July 7
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due June 5 May 30 July 7

Last Day to Drop a Course with 50 percent financial obligation and no notation on transcript (LPS students must submit a Late Drop Form)

June 19 June 8 July 14

Last Day to Change Grade Type Status in a Course (E-mail lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request.)

June 19 June 8 July 14
Last Day to Withdraw from a Course. Full financial obligation applies (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form July 24 June 20 July 28
Classes End* August 4 June 28 August 4

*Summer Sessions final exams are scheduled at the discretion of the course instructor.

Back to top

 

LPS News

Get ready for fall!

Summer Course Guide

The Fall Course Guide is here! Find the classes you need an start getting ahead for the semester.

See Course Guide >

Penn LPS

3440 Market Street, Suite 100
Philadelphia, PA 19104-3335

E-MAIL:
PHONE:
FAX:

lps@sas.upenn.edu
(215) 898-7326
(215) 573-2053

Facebook   Twitter   YouTube