Academic Calendar

You are here

The important dates below are scheduled by the College of Liberal and Professional Studies. Some deadlines and other dates may be different in other Penn Schools or Colleges.

Spring 2015 academic calendar and deadlines

Advance registration for the Spring term Monday, October 27 - Sunday, November 9 (2014)
Classes begin (Monday class schedule on Wednesday)
Wednesday, January 14 (Monday classes)
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (observed) Monday, January 19
(no classes)
Last day to add writing or language course Friday, January 23
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due Monday, February 2
Last day to add a course Monday, February 2
Last Day to Drop a Course with No Financial Obligation and No Notation on the Transcript. (After this date LPS students must contact the LPS office to drop a course or change grade type: grade to pass/fail; pass/fail to grade; credit to audit; audit to credit.) Monday, February 2
Last Day to Drop a Course with 50% Financial Obligation and No Notation on Transcript. (LPS students must complete a Late Drop Form (PDF)) Friday, February 20
Last day to change grade status in a course (E-mail lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request) Friday, February 20
Spring Recess Begins at Close of Classes (LPS classes on Saturday, March 7 will be held and there will be no class on March 14) Friday, March 6
Spring Recess ends; Classes resume Monday, March 16
Advance Registration for Fall and Registration for Summer Classes Monday, March 23–Sunday, March 29
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies. (LPS students must submit a Withdrawal Form (PDF)) Friday, March 27
Spring term classes end Wednesday, April 29
Reading days Thursday, April 30 - Friday, May 1
Final examinations Monday, May 4 - Tuesday, May 12
Grades due Friday, May 14 (noon)
LPS Graduation Sunday, May 17
University Commencement Monday, May 18

Back to top

Summer 2015 academic calendar and deadlines

  11-Week Summer Session Summer Session I Summer Session II
Course Registration Begins March 23 March 23 March 23
Last Day for Penn Summer Global Institute Applications       April 15
Open Enrollment Form Deadline May 14 May 14 June 24
Classes Begin May 26 May 26 July 2
No classes, university holiday July 3   July 3
Last Day to Add a Course/Drop a Course with
No Financial Obligation
June 8 June 2 July 10
Last Day to Drop a course with 50% Financial Obligation
Students must contact their home school by the deadline to have the course dropped and the money refunded.
June 22 June 9 July 17
Last Day to Change Grade Status
Please see contacts in home school for more information below.
June 22 June 9 July 17
Last Day to Withdraw from a course
Full financial obligation will apply. Transcript to
Read "W". Please see contacts in home school for more information below.
July 27 June 23 July 31
Classes End* August 7 July 1 August 7

*Summer Sessions final exams are scheduled at the discretion of the course instructor.

Back to top

Fall 2015 academic calendar and deadlines

New Student Orientation See information on orientation dates
Course registration begins Monday, March 23
Classes begin Wednesday, August 26
Labor Day Monday, September 7 (no classes)
Last day to add language courses and writing seminars Friday, September 4
Last day to add a course Monday, September 14
Last day to drop a course with no financial obligation and no notation on transcript Monday, September 14
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due  Monday, September 14
Last day to drop a course with 50 percent financial obligation and no notation on transcript. (LPS students must submit a Late Drop Form (PDF)) Friday, October 2
Last day to change grade status in a course. (E-mail lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request.) Friday, October 2
Fall term break
(Saturday classes will not meet)
Thursday, October 8 - Sunday, October 11
Fall term break ends; classes resume Monday, October 12
Advance registration for Spring term Monday, October 26 - Sunday, November 8
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies. (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form (PDF) Friday, November 6
Thu/Fri class schedule on Tue/Wed Tuesday, November 24 &
Wednesday, November 25
Thanksgiving Recess begins at 4:30 p.m.
LPS evening classes will not meet.
Wednesday, November 25
Classes resume Monday, November 30
Fall term classes end Tuesday, December 8
Reading days Wednesday, December 9 -
Thursday, December 10
Final examinations Friday, December 11 -
Friday, December 18
Fall term ends Friday, December 18

Back to top

 

 

 

LPS News

Planning your summer?

Summer Course Guide

See everything Penn Summer has to offer for courses on campus, online, and abroad.

See Summer Courses >