Academic Calendar

You are here

The important dates below are scheduled by the College of Liberal and Professional Studies. Some deadlines and other dates may be different in other Penn Schools or Colleges.

Fall 2017 academic calendar and deadlines

New Student Orientation See information on orientation dates
Advance Registration Monday, March 20 -
Sunday, April 2
Course Selection opens Thursday, April 13
Classes begin Tuesday, August 29
Labor Day Monday, September 4
(no classes)
Last Day to Add Language Courses and Writing Seminars Friday, September 8
Last Day to Add a Course Monday, September 18
Last Day to Drop a Course with no financial obligation and no notation on transcript Monday, September 18
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due  Monday, September 18
Fall Term Break
(Saturday classes will not meet)
Thursday, October 5 -
Sunday, October 8
Last Day to Drop a Course with 50 percent financial obligation and no notation on transcript (LPS students must submit a Late Drop Form) Monday, October 9
Last Day to Change Grade Type Status in a Course (E-mail lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request.) Monday, October 9
Fall Term Break ends; classes resume Monday, October 9
Advance registration for Spring term Monday, October 30 -
Sunday, November 12
Last Day to Withdraw from a Course. Full financial obligation applies (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form Friday, November 10
Thu/Fri class schedule on Tue/Wed Tuesday, November 21 &
Wednesday, November 22
Thanksgiving Recess begins at 4:30 p.m.
LPS evening classes will not meet.
Wednesday, November 22
Thanksgiving Break ends - Classes resume Monday, November 27
Fall term classes end Monday, December 11
Reading days Tuesday, December 12 -
Wednesday, December 13
Final examinations Thursday, December 14 -
Thursday, December 21
Fall term ends Thursday, December 21

Back to top

Spring 2018 academic calendar and deadlines

Advance registration for the Spring term Monday, October 30 -
Sunday, November 12 (2017)
Classes begin (Monday class schedule on Wednesday)
Wednesday, January 10
(Monday classes)
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (observed) Monday, January 15
(no classes)
Last Day to Add Writing or Language Course Friday, January 19
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due Monday, January 29
Last Day to Add a Course Monday, January 29
Last Day to Drop a Course with No Financial Obligation and No Notation on the Transcript. (After this date LPS students must contact the LPS office to drop a course or change grade type: grade to pass/fail; pass/fail to grade; credit to audit; audit to credit.) Monday, January 29
Last Day to Drop a Course with 50% Financial Obligation and No Notation on Transcript. (LPS students must complete a Late Drop Form) Friday, February 16
Last Day to Change Grade Type Status in a Course (E-mail lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request) Friday, February 16
Spring Recess Begins at Close of Classes (LPS classes on Saturday, March 3 will be held and there will be no classes on Saturday, March 10) Saturday, March 3
Spring Recess ends; Classes resume Monday, March 12
Advance Registration for Fall term and Registration for Summer Classes
Monday, March 19 -
Sunday, April 1
Last Day to Withdraw from a Course. Full financial obligation applies. (LPS students must submit a Withdrawal Form) Friday, March 23
Spring term classes end Wednesday, April 25
Reading days Thursday, April 26 -
Friday, April 27
Final examinations Monday, April 30 -
Tuesday, May 8
Grades due Friday, May 11 (noon)
LPS Graduation Sunday, May 13
University Commencement Monday, May 14

Back to top

 

LPS News

Get ready for the semester!

Course Guide

Find the classes you need and start getting ahead for the semester.

See Course Guide >

Penn LPS

3440 Market Street, Suite 100
Philadelphia, PA 19104-3335

E-MAIL:
PHONE:
FAX:

lps@sas.upenn.edu
(215) 898-7326
(215) 573-2053

Facebook   Twitter   YouTube