Penn LPS Coronavirus COVID-19 Update
The College of Liberal and Professional Studies staff is working remotely to comply with University protocols as we navigate the COVID-19 virus. Penn is committed to maintaining a safe campus and workplace for faculty, students, staff, and visitors. While we are not onsite, we are still available Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. by phone and online in case you need support: (215) 898-7326 or lps@sas.upenn.edu.

Visit coronavirus.upenn.edu, the University's dedicated coronavirus COVID-19 web page, for the latest updates.

Academic Calendar

You are here

The important dates below are scheduled by the College of Liberal and Professional Studies. Some deadlines and other dates may be different in other Penn Schools or Colleges.


Spring 2020 academic calendar and deadlines

Advance registration period for the Spring term Monday, October 28 -
Sunday, November 10 (2019)
Course selection opens Tuesday, November 19
Classes begin (Monday class schedule on Wednesday)
Wednesday, January 15
(Monday classes)
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (observed) Monday, January 20
(no classes)
Last day to add writing or language course Friday, January 24
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due Tuesday, January 28
Last day to add a course Tuesday, January 28
Last day to drop a course with no financial obligation and no notation on the transcript. Tuesday, January 28
Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript. (LPS students must complete a Late Drop Form) Monday, February 24
Spring recess begins at close of classes (LPS classes on Saturday, March 7 will be held and there will be no classes on Saturday, March 14) Saturday, March 7
Spring recess ends; classes resume Monday, March 16
Last day to change grade type status in a course
(Change grade type at Penn In Touch.)
Monday, April 13
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies. (LPS students must submit a Withdrawal Form) Monday, April 13
Summer course registration begins Tuesday, April 14
Advance registration for Fall term Tuesday, April 14 -
Friday, April 24
Spring term classes end Wednesday, April 29
Reading days Thursday, April 30 -
Sunday, May 3
Final examinations Monday, May 4 -
Tuesday, May 12
Spring Term ends Tuesday, May 12
LPS Graduation Sunday, May 17
University Commencement Monday, May 18

Back to top

Summer 2020 academic calendar and deadlines

  11-Week Summer Session Summer Session I Summer Session II
Course registration begins April 14 April 14 April 14
Classes begin May 26 May 26 July 2
No classes, university holiday (observed)
July 3   July 3
Last day to add a course/drop a course with no financial obligation

Tuition Reduction Request Forms due

June 9 June 2 July 9

Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript (LPS students must submit a Late Drop Form)

June 23 June 10 July 17

Last day to change grade type status in a course (Change grade type at Penn In Touch.)

June 23 June 10 July 17
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form) July 27 June 24 July 31
Classes end* August 7 July 1 August 7

**Summer Sessions do not have a set schedule for final exams. All exam dates are at the discretion of the course instructor.

Back to top

The program you're looking for

Programs & Offerings

Explore all the academic programs that Penn LPS has to offer.

See Programs & Offerings >

Questions about finances?

Tuition and Financing

Learn about billing and the financial services Penn has to offer.

See Tuition & Financing >

Culture, community and city living

Campus Life

Explore everything Penn has to offer, including the vibrant city life of Philadelphia.

See Campus Life >

Penn LPS

The lifelong learning division of Penn Arts & Sciences

3440 Market Street, Suite 100
Philadelphia, PA 19104-3335

(215) 898-7326
lps@sas.upenn.edu