Academic Calendar

You are here

The important dates below are scheduled by the College of Liberal and Professional Studies. Some deadlines and other dates may be different in other Penn Schools or Colleges.

Fall 2015 academic calendar and deadlines

New Student Orientation See information on orientation dates
Advance Registration for Fall 2015 Monday, March 23 - Sunday, April 5
Classes begin Wednesday, August 26
Labor Day Monday, September 7 (no classes)
Last day to add language courses and writing seminars Friday, September 4
Last day to add a course Monday, September 14
Last day to drop a course with no financial obligation and no notation on transcript Monday, September 14
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due  Monday, September 14
Papal Visit Friday, September 25 – Sunday, September 27 (no classes on campus)
Fall term break
(Saturday classes will not meet)
Thursday, October 8 - Sunday, October 11
Last day to drop a course with 50 percent financial obligation and no notation on transcript. (LPS students must submit a Late Drop Form (PDF)) Friday, October 9
Last day to change grade status in a course. (E-mail lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request.) Friday, October 9
Fall term break ends; classes resume Monday, October 12
Advance registration for Spring term Monday, October 26 - Sunday, November 8
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies. (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form (PDF) Friday, November 6
Thu/Fri class schedule on Tue/Wed Tuesday, November 24 &
Wednesday, November 25
Thanksgiving Recess begins at 4:30 p.m.
LPS evening classes will not meet.
Wednesday, November 25
Classes resume Monday, November 30
Fall term classes end Tuesday, December 8
Reading days Wednesday, December 9 -
Thursday, December 10
Final examinations Friday, December 11 -
Friday, December 18
Fall term ends Friday, December 18

Back to top

Spring 2016 academic calendar and deadlines

Advance registration for the Spring term Monday, October 26 - Sunday, November 8 (2015)
Classes begin
Wednesday, January 13
Last day to add writing or language course Friday, January 15
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (observed) Monday, January 18
(no classes)
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due Monday, February 1
Last day to add a course Monday, February 1
Last Day to Drop a Course with No Financial Obligation and No Notation on the Transcript. (After this date LPS students must contact the LPS office to drop a course or change grade type: grade to pass/fail; pass/fail to grade; credit to audit; audit to credit.) Monday, February 1
Last Day to Drop a Course with 50% Financial Obligation and No Notation on Transcript. (LPS students must complete a Late Drop Form (PDF). The form must be in the LPS office by close of business - 5:00 pm.) Friday, February 19
Last day to change grade status in a course (E-mail lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request) Friday, February 19
Spring Recess Begins at Close of Classes (LPS classes on Saturday, March 5 will be held and there will be no class on March 12) Friday, March 5
Spring Recess ends; Classes resume Monday, March 14
Registration for Summer Classes begins
Monday, March 21
Advance Registration for Fall term
Monday, March 21 - Sunday, April 3
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies. (LPS students must submit a Withdrawal Form (PDF)) Friday, March 25
Spring term classes end Wednesday, April 27
Reading days Thursday, April 28 - Friday, April 29
Final examinations Monday, May 2 - Tuesday, May 10
Grades due Friday, May 13 (noon)
LPS Graduation Sunday, May 15
University Commencement Monday, May 16

Back to top

 

Summer 2016 academic calendar and deadlines

  11-WEEK SUMMER SESSION SUMMER SESSION I SUMMER SESSION II
Classes Begin May 23 May 23 June 30
No classes, university holiday July 4   July 4
Classes End* August 5 June 29 August 5

*Summer Sessions final exams are scheduled at the discretion of the course instructor.

Back to top

LPS News

  • Read about Nidhi Krishen’s (MES ’15) switch from the binary word of software engineering to the pursuit of her lifelong interest in environmental protection. More >
  • Organizational Dynamics students visited Sweden to consider how the Swedish ideal of “lagom”—a balanced approach—might translate to other nations. More >

Get Ready for Fall!

Fall Course Guide

The Fall Course Guide is here! Find the classes you need and start getting ahead for the semester.

See Course Guide >

Penn LPS

3440 Market Street, Suite 100
Philadelphia, PA 19104-3335
Directions

Telephone: (215) 898-7326
Fax: (215) 573-2053
E-mail: lps@sas.upenn.edu

Facebook   Twitter   YouTube