Academic Calendar

You are here

The important dates below are scheduled by the College of Liberal and Professional Studies. Some deadlines and other dates may be different in other Penn Schools or Colleges.

Summer 2016 academic calendar and deadlines

  11-Week Summer Session Summer Session I Summer Session II
Course Registration Begins March 21 March 21 March 21
Last Day for International Students to Submit Application April 1 April 1 May 1
Open Enrollment Form Deadline May 12 May 12 June 23
Classes Begin May 23 May 23 June 30
Memorial Day observed (no classes) May 30 May 30  
Independence Day observed (no classes) July 4   July 4
Last Day to Add a Course/Drop a Course with No Financial Obligation and No Notation on Transcript June 6 May 31 July 8
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due
June 6 May 31 July 8
Last Day to Drop a Course with 50% Financial Obligation and No Notation on Transcript. (LPS students must complete a Late Drop Form) June 20 June 9 July 15
Last Day to Change Grade Type Status in a Course (E-mail lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request) June 20 June 9 July 15
Last Day to Withdraw from a Course. Full financial obligation applies. (LPS students must submit a Withdrawal Form) July 25 June 21 July 29
Classes End* August 5 June 29 August 5

*Summer Sessions final exams are scheduled at the discretion of the course instructor.

Back to top

Fall 2016 academic calendar and deadlines

New Student Orientation See information on orientation dates
Advance Registration Monday, March 21 - Sunday, April 3
Course Selection opens Wednesday, April 13
Classes begin Tuesday, August 30
Labor Day Monday, September 5 (no classes)
Last Day to Add Language Courses and Writing Seminars Friday, September 9
Last Day to Add a Course Monday, September 19
Last Day to Drop a Course with no financial obligation and no notation on transcript Monday, September 19
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due  Monday, September 19
Fall Term Break
(Saturday classes will not meet)
Thursday, October 6 - Sunday, October 9
Last Day to Drop a Course with 50 percent financial obligation and no notation on transcript (LPS students must submit a Late Drop Form) Monday, October 10
Last Day to Change Grade Type Status in a Course (E-mail lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request.) Monday, October 10
Fall Term Break ends; classes resume Monday, October 10
Advance registration for Spring term Monday, October 31 - Sunday, November 13
Last Day to Withdraw from a Course. Full financial obligation applies (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form Friday, November 11
Thu/Fri class schedule on Tue/Wed Tuesday, November 22 &
Wednesday, November 23
Thanksgiving Recess begins at 4:30 p.m.
LPS evening classes will not meet.
Wednesday, November 23
Thanksgiving Break ends - Classes resume Monday, November 28
Fall term classes end Monday, December 12
Reading days Tuesday, December 13 -
Wednesday, December 14
Final examinations Thursday, December 15 -
Thursday, December 22
Fall term ends Thursday, December 22

Back to top

Spring 2017 academic calendar and deadlines

Advance registration for the Spring term Monday, October 31 - Sunday, November 13 (2016)
Classes begin (Monday class schedule on Wednesday)
Wednesday, January 11
(Monday classes)

Last Day to Add Writing or Language Course Friday, January 13
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (observed) Monday, January 16
(no classes)
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due Monday, January 30
Last Day to Add a Course Monday, January 30
Last Day to Drop a Course with No Financial Obligation and No Notation on the Transcript. (After this date LPS students must contact the LPS office to drop a course or change grade type: grade to pass/fail; pass/fail to grade; credit to audit; audit to credit.) Monday, January 30
Last Day to Drop a Course with 50% Financial Obligation and No Notation on Transcript. (LPS students must complete a Late Drop Form) Friday, February 17
Last Day to Change Grade Type Status in a Course (E-mail lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request) Friday, February 17
Spring Recess Begins at Close of Classes (LPS classes on Saturday, March 4 will be held and there will be no classes on Saturday, March 11) Saturday, March 4
Spring Recess ends; Classes resume Monday, March 13
Advance Registration for Fall term and Registration for Summer Classes
Monday, March 20 - Sunday, April 2
Last Day to Withdraw from a Course. Full financial obligation applies. (LPS students must submit a Withdrawal Form) Friday, March 24
Spring term classes end Wednesday, April 26
Reading days Thursday, April 27 - Friday, April 28
Final examinations Monday, May 1 - Tuesday, May 9
Grades due Friday, May 12 (noon)
LPS Graduation Sunday, May 14
University Commencement Monday, May 15

Back to top

LPS News

Get Ready for Fall!

Summer Course Guide

The Fall Course Guide is here! Find the classes you need an start getting ahead for the semester.

See Course Guide >

Penn LPS

3440 Market Street, Suite 100
Philadelphia, PA 19104-3335
Directions

Telephone: (215) 898-7326
Fax: (215) 573-2053
E-mail: lps@sas.upenn.edu

Facebook   Twitter   YouTube