Academic Calendar

You are here

The important dates below are scheduled by the College of Liberal and Professional Studies. Some deadlines and other dates may be different in other Penn Schools or Colleges.

Fall 2019 academic calendar and deadlines

New Student Orientation See information on orientation dates
Advance registration period Monday, March 18 -
Sunday, March 31
Course selection opens Wednesday, April 10
Classes begin Tuesday, August 27
Labor Day Monday, September 2
(no classes)
Last day to add language courses and writing seminars Friday, September 6
Last day to add a course Tuesday, September 10
Last day to drop a course with no financial obligation and no notation on transcript Tuesday, September 10
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due Tuesday, September 10
Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript. (LPS students must submit a Late Drop Form) Monday, October 7
Fall term break
Saturday classes will not meet
Thursday, October 10 -
Sunday, October 13
Fall term break ends; classes resume Monday, October 14
Last day to change grade type status in a course (E-mail: lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request.) Friday, October 25
Advance registration for Spring term Monday, October 28 -
Sunday, November 10
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form) Monday, November 4
Thu/Fri class schedule on Tue/Wed Tuesday, November 26 &
Wednesday, November 27
Thanksgiving break begins at 4:30 p.m.
LPS evening classes will not meet.
Wednesday, November 27
Thanksgiving break ends; classes resume Monday, December 2
Fall term classes end Monday, December 9
Reading days Tuesday, December 10 -
Wednesday, December 11
Final examinations Thursday, December 12 -
Thursday, December 19
Fall term ends Thursday, December 19

Back to top

Spring 2020 academic calendar and deadlines

Advance registration period for the Spring term Monday, October 28 -
Sunday, November 10 (2019)
Course selection opens Tuesday, November 19
Classes begin (Monday class schedule on Wednesday)
Wednesday, January 15
(Monday classes)
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (observed) Monday, January 20
(no classes)
Last day to add writing or language course Friday, January 24
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due Tuesday, January 28
Last day to add a course Tuesday, January 28
Last day to drop a course with no financial obligation and no notation on the transcript. (After this date LPS students must contact the LPS office to drop a course or change grade type: grade to pass/fail; pass/fail to grade; credit to audit; audit to credit.) Tuesday, January 28
Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript. (LPS students must complete a Late Drop Form) Monday, February 24
Spring recess begins at close of classes (LPS classes on Saturday, March 7 will be held and there will be no classes on Saturday, March 14) Saturday, March 7
Spring recess ends; classes resume Monday, March 16
Last day to change grade type status in a course (E-mail: lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request.) Friday, March 20
Advance registration for Fall term and registration for Summer classes
Monday, March 23 -
Sunday, April 5
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies. (LPS students must submit a Withdrawal Form) Monday, March 30
Spring term classes end Wednesday, April 29
Reading days Thursday, April 30 -
Sunday, May 3
Final examinations Monday, May 4 -
Tuesday, May 12
Spring Term ends Tuesday, May 12
LPS Graduation Sunday, May 17
University Commencement Monday, May 18

Back to top

Summer 2020 academic calendar and deadlines

  11-Week Summer Session Summer Session I Summer Session II
Course registration begins March 23 March 23 March 23
Classes begin May 26 May 26 July 2
No classes, university holiday July 4   July 4
Last day to add a course/drop a course with no financial obligation

Tuition Reduction Request Forms due

June 9 June 2 July 9

Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript (LPS students must submit a Late Drop Form)

June 23 June 10 July 17

Last day to change grade type status in a course (E-mail: lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request.)

June 23 June 10 July 17
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form) July 27 June 24 July 31
Classes end* August 7 July 1 August 7

**Summer Sessions do not have a set schedule for final exams. All exam dates are at the discretion of the course instructor.

Back to top

The program you're looking for

Programs & Offerings

Explore all the academic programs that Penn LPS has to offer.

See Programs & Offerings >

Questions about finances?

Tuition and Financing

Learn about billing and the financial services Penn has to offer.

See Tuition & Financing >

Culture, community and city living

Campus Life

Explore everything Penn has to offer, including the vibrant city life of Philadelphia.

See Campus Life >

Penn LPS

The lifelong learning division of Penn Arts & Sciences

3440 Market Street, Suite 100
Philadelphia, PA 19104-3335

(215) 898-7326
lps@sas.upenn.edu

View our Facebook   View our Twitter   View our YouTube