Penn LPS Coronavirus COVID-19 Update
The College of Liberal and Professional Studies staff is working remotely to comply with University protocols as we navigate the COVID-19 virus. Penn is committed to maintaining a safe campus and workplace for faculty, students, staff, and visitors. While we are not onsite, we are still available Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. by phone and online in case you need support: (215) 898-7326 or lps@sas.upenn.edu.

Visit coronavirus.upenn.edu, the University's dedicated coronavirus COVID-19 web page, for the latest updates.
close alert box button

Academic Calendar

You are here

The important dates below are scheduled by the College of Liberal and Professional Studies. Some deadlines and other dates may be different in other Penn Schools or Colleges.

Summer 2020 academic calendar and deadlines

  11-Week Summer Session Summer Session I Summer Session II
Course registration begins April 14 April 14 April 14
Classes begin May 26 May 26 July 2
No classes, university holiday (observed)
July 3   July 3
Last day to add a course/drop a course with no financial obligation

Tuition Reduction Request Forms due

June 9 June 2 July 9

Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript (LPS students must submit a Late Drop Form)

June 23 June 10 July 17

Last day to change grade type status in a course (Change grade type at Penn In Touch.)

June 23 June 10 July 17
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form) July 27 June 24 July 31
Classes end* August 7 July 1 August 7

*Summer Sessions do not have a set schedule for final exams. All exam dates are at the discretion of the course instructor.

Back to top

Fall 2020 academic calendar and deadlines

New Student Orientation See information on orientation dates
Advance registration period Tuesday, April 14 -
Friday, April 24
Classes begin Tuesday, September 1
Labor Day Monday, September 7
(no classes)
Last day to add language courses and writing seminars Friday, September 11
Last day to add a course Tuesday, September 15
Last day to drop a course with no financial obligation and no notation on transcript Tuesday, September 15
Tuition Reduction Request Forms due Tuesday, September 15
Fall term break
Saturday classes will not meet
Thursday, October 1 -
Sunday, October 4
Fall term break ends; classes resume Monday, October 5
Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript. (LPS students must submit a Late Drop Form) Monday, October 12
Last day to change grade type status in a course (E-mail: lps@sas.upenn.edu with your grade type change request.) Friday, October 30
Advance registration for Spring term Monday, November 2 -
Sunday, November 15
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form) Monday, November 9
Thu/Fri class schedule on Tue/Wed Tuesday, November 24 &
Wednesday, November 25
Thanksgiving break begins at 4:30 p.m.
LPS evening classes will not meet.
Wednesday, November 25
Thanksgiving break ends; classes resume Monday, November 30
Fall term classes end Thursday, December 10
Reading days Friday, December 11 -
Monday, December 14
Final examinations Tuesday, December 15 -
Tuesday, December 22
Fall term ends Tuesday, December 22

Back to top

 

The program you're looking for

Programs & Offerings

Explore all the academic programs that Penn LPS has to offer.

See Programs & Offerings >

Questions about finances?

Tuition and Financing

Learn about billing and the financial services Penn has to offer.

See Tuition & Financing >

Culture, community and city living

Campus Life

Explore everything Penn has to offer, including the vibrant city life of Philadelphia.

See Campus Life >

Penn LPS

The lifelong learning division of Penn Arts & Sciences

3440 Market Street, Suite 100
Philadelphia, PA 19104-3335

(215) 898-7326
lps@sas.upenn.edu