Lesser Named Edward W. Kane Professor of English

Zachary Lesser, Edward W. Kane Professor of English.

Zachary Lesser, Professor of English, has been appointed Edward W. Kane Professor of English.  A leading scholar in English Renaissance drama and the history of the book, Lesser is a general editor of The Arden Shakespeare. He is known for his early contributions to the digital humanities, including co-creating DEEP: Database of Early English Playbooks, launched in 2007 as an online resource for studying the printing, publishing, and marketing of Renaissance drama. Both of his books, Hamlet after Q1: An Uncanny History of the Shakespearean Text and Renaissance Drama and the Politics of Publication: Readings in the English Book Trade, won the Elizabeth Dietz Award for the best book of the year in early modern literary studies, making Lesser the only two-time winner of the prize. His new book, Ghosts, Holes, Rips and Scrapes: Shakespeare in 1619, Bibliography in the Longue Durée, will appear soon from Penn Press.

This professorship was established by Edward W. Kane, C’71 and Martha J. Wallace to support a preeminent scholar and teacher in the Department of English. Kane has served as a University trustee and on the School of Veterinary Medicine Board of Overseers.


Arts & Sciences News

Laurin Bixby Named Health Policy Research Scholar

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s leadership programs connect changemakers across the country.

View Article >
Amy Offner Wins Inaugural Hunt Prize in International History

Amy Offner, Assistant Professor of History, has been awarded the inaugural Michael H. Hunt Prize in International History by the Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations.

View Article >
Penn Professors Receive 2020 NYC Coalition for the Homeless Compassionate Community Award

Melissa E. Sanchez of Penn Arts & Sciences and Corrine Low of Wharton lead the Upper West Side Open Hearts Initiative.

View Article >
Kane Shares in Fudan-Zhongzhi Science Award

Charles Kane, Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Physics, was honored for pioneering contributions that generated the field of topological insulators.

View Article >
Christopher B. Murray Named Citation Laureate

Since the award’s inception in 2002, 54 Citation Laureates have gone on to receive a Nobel Prize.

View Article >
Joan DeJean Named Fellow of the British Academy

DeJean, Trustee Professor of French, joins a cohort of exceptional scholars in the humanities and social sciences.

View Article >