Liang Wu Wins McMillian Award for Outstanding Contributions in Condensed Matter Physics

Liang Wu, Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy

Liang Wu, Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy, has received the 2019 William L. McMillan Award from the Department of Physics at the University of Illinois for his outstanding contributions in condensed matter physics. This award, which Wu will share with Barry Bradlyn of the University of Illinois, is presented annually to a condensed matter physicist for distinguished research performed within five years of receiving a Ph.D. Wu was honored “for novel terahertz and optical spectroscopy experiments on topological insulators and semimetals.”

Wu researches light-matter interactions, where he studies and controls properties of quantum materials. In this class of materials, collective phases and properties defy a classical description, which often leads to a rich range of emergent phenomena. His research interests include topological insulators and semimetals, quantum antiferromagnets, spin liquids, and topological superconductors.

In addition to the McMillan Award, Wu has been named a “30 Under 30: in Science" by Forbes Magazine, and received an Army Research Office Young Investigator Program Award and the Richard L. Greene Dissertation Award in Experimental Condensed Matter Physics from the American Physical Society. He earned his Ph.D. in physics from Johns Hopkins University.


Arts & Sciences News

Crawford Named Kahn Professor for Faculty Excellence

Margo Natalie Crawford, Professor of English and Director of the Center for Africana Studies, has been appointed Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Professor for Faculty Excellence.

View Article >
Euben, Plotkin Named Annenberg Professors

Roxanne L. Euben, Professor of Political Science, has been appointed Walter H. and Leonore C. Annenberg Professor in the Social Sciences, and Joshua B. Plotkin, Professor of Biology, has been appointed Walter H. and Leonore C. Annenberg Professor in the Natural Sciences.

View Article >
Cobb and Kahana Named Kahn Term Professors

Paul M. Cobb, Professor and Chair of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, and Michael J. Kahana, Professor of Psychology, have been named Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Term Professors.

View Article >
Neil Tomson Awarded a National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development Program Award

Neil Tomson, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, has been awarded a National Sc

View Article >
Michael DiBerardinis Named a 2019 Civic Champion

The award is given by CORA Services, a Philadelphia non-profit that aids children, youth, and families experiencing emotional, academic, and social challenges.

View Article >
Wilson Named College for Women Class of 1963 Term Professor

Emily Wilson, Professor of Classical Studies, has been appointed College for Women Class of 1963 Term Professor in the Humanities.

View Article >