Two College Students and One Alum Receive Marshall Scholarships

Penn Arts & Sciences

Sarah Kane, C’23, and Amy Krimm, C’23, and recent graduate Carson Eckhard, C’21, have been named 2023 Marshall Scholars. Established by the British government, the Marshall Scholarship supports up to three years of graduate study for American students in any field at an institution in the United Kingdom. Kane, Krimm, and Eckhard are among just 40 Marshall Scholars for 2023, representing 32 U.S. institutions.

Physics major Sarah Kane, from Mendham, New Jersey, began astronomy research with  Bhuvnesh Jain, Walter H. and Leonore C. Annenberg Professor in the Natural Sciences, in 2020 through the Penn Undergraduate Research Mentoring program, continuing through May of this year. Last summer she worked with astronomy faculty at the University of Texas at Austin, funded by the National Science Foundation and U.S. Department of Defense. A member of Phi Beta Kappa, Kane has received the Roy and Diana Vagelos Science Challenge Award and the Thomas H. Wood Prize in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, as well as the Michael J. McGowan Leadership Scholarship awarded by the National Organization for Albinism and Hypopigmentation. As a Marshall Scholar, she plans to pursue a Ph.D. at the Institute of Astronomy at the University of Cambridge.

Amy Krimm is majoring in visual studies with a concentration in the philosophy and science of seeing and minoring in American Sign Language and Deaf Studies. Originally from Silver Spring, Maryland, she is interested in exploring the relationship between art and science. She is a research assistant at the Penn Center for Neuroaesthetics in the Perelman School of Medicine, co-director for the Civic House Community Engagement Program, a student leader for the PennCORP pre-orientation program, a College peer advisor, and a writing fellow at Penn’s Marks Family Writing Center. Krimm plans to pursue master’s degrees in psychology of the arts, neuroaesthetics, and creativity at Goldsmiths, University of London, and in fine arts at Lancaster University.

Carson Eckhard, from Tampa, Florida, graduated summa cum laude in 2021 with honors in history and English. She currently works as an assistant for McDermott, Will & Emery’s Supreme Court Practice in Washington, D.C. In 2021, she and two classmates received Penn’s President’s Engagement Prize to establish Project HOPE, which proovides reentry support for Pennsylvanians returning from incarceration. The project grew from work Eckhard did with The Liberation Foundation, a nonprofit that advocates for wrongfully incarcerated Pennsylvanians. At Penn, Eckhard was a Dean’s Scholar, a University Scholar, a Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellow, an Andrea Mitchell Research Fellow, and a member of Phi Beta Kappa. She plans to pursue master’s degrees in economic and social history at University of Edinburgh and socio-legal research at the University of Oxford.

Read more here

Arts & Sciences News

Wale Adebanwi and Deborah A. Thomas Named 2024 Guggenheim Fellows

The award is designed to allow independent work at the highest level under “the freest possible conditions.”

View Article >
2024 College of Arts & Sciences Graduation Speakers

James “Jim” Johnson, C’74, L’77, LPS ’21, a School of Arts and Sciences Board of Advisors member, and student speaker Katie Volpert, C’24, will address the Class of 2024 Sunday May 19 on Franklin Field.

View Article >
Undergraduate and Graduate Students Honored as 2024 Dean’s Scholars

This honor is presented annually to students who exhibit exceptional academic performance and intellectual promise.

View Article >
Azuma and Hart Named Roy F. and Jeannette P. Nichols Professors of American History

Eiichiro Azuma specializes in Asian American and transpacific history, while Emma Hart teaches and researches the history of early North America, the Atlantic World, and early modern Britain between 1500 and 1800.

View Article >
Arts & Sciences Students Honored during 37th Annual Women of Color Day

Sade Taiwo, C’25, and Kyndall Nicholas, a Ph.D. candidate in neuroscience, were honored for their work.

View Article >
Nine College Students and Alums Named Thouron Scholars; Will Pursue Graduate Studies in the U.K.

The Scholars are six seniors and three recent graduates whose majors range from neuroscience to communication.

View Article >