Irma Elo Named Tamsen and Michael Brown Presidential Professor in Sociology

Irma Elo, Tamsen and Michael Brown Presidential Professor

Irma Elo, Professor of Sociology, has been appointed Tamsen and Michael Brown Presidential Professor. Elo’s main research interests center on socioeconomic, racial and ethnic, immigrant, and geographic inequalities in health and mortality across the life course and demographic estimation of mortality. In recent years, she has extended her research to include predictors of cognition in high-, middle-, and low-income countries. Elo, who also holds an appointment as a Research Associate at the Population Studies Center and the Population Aging Research Center, is currently the primary investigator of the National Institute on Aging-funded study, Causes of Geographic Divergence in American Mortality Between 1990 and 2015: Health Behaviors, Health Care Access and Migration.

Elo has served as a member and/or chair of several national and international committees, including chair of the Board of Scientific Counselors of the National Center for Health Statistics, member of the Census Bureau’s Scientific Advisory Committee, member and chair of the section on the sociology of population for the American Sociological Association, member of the Population Association of America’s (PAA) board of directors, chair of the PAA’s Committee on Population Statistics, and member of an International Advisory Board of the Swedish Initiative for Research on Microdata in the Social and Medical Sciences. This year she was elected as the President-elect of the PAA.

Tamsen M. Brown, C'95, and Michael Brown, established this professorship in 2021. Tamsen is a member of the School’s Board of Advisors, and the Basser Center Advisory Board. Tamsen and Michael are both members of Penn’s Parents Council. In additional to the professorship, they also generously support research at Penn Medicine.


Arts & Sciences News

Wale Adebanwi and Deborah A. Thomas Named 2024 Guggenheim Fellows

The award is designed to allow independent work at the highest level under “the freest possible conditions.”

View Article >
2024 College of Arts & Sciences Graduation Speakers

James “Jim” Johnson, C’74, L’77, LPS ’21, a School of Arts and Sciences Board of Advisors member, and student speaker Katie Volpert, C’24, will address the Class of 2024 Sunday May 19 on Franklin Field.

View Article >
Undergraduate and Graduate Students Honored as 2024 Dean’s Scholars

This honor is presented annually to students who exhibit exceptional academic performance and intellectual promise.

View Article >
Azuma and Hart Named Roy F. and Jeannette P. Nichols Professors of American History

Eiichiro Azuma specializes in Asian American and transpacific history, while Emma Hart teaches and researches the history of early North America, the Atlantic World, and early modern Britain between 1500 and 1800.

View Article >
Arts & Sciences Students Honored during 37th Annual Women of Color Day

Sade Taiwo, C’25, and Kyndall Nicholas, a Ph.D. candidate in neuroscience, were honored for their work.

View Article >
Nine College Students and Alums Named Thouron Scholars; Will Pursue Graduate Studies in the U.K.

The Scholars are six seniors and three recent graduates whose majors range from neuroscience to communication.

View Article >