2023 Presidential Ph.D. Fellows Include Four from Penn Arts & Sciences


This year’s 15 Presidential Ph.D. Fellows, announced by Penn President Liz Magill, Provost John L. Jackson Jr., and Vice Provost for Education Karen Detlefsen, include four from Penn Arts & Sciences.

The honorees, all first-year Ph.D. students, each receive a three-year fellowship, which includes a 12-month stipend, tuition, fees, Penn Student Insurance coverage, and research funds.
The quartet from Penn Arts & Sciences includes:

• Júlio César de Melo do Nascimento, Department of Religious Studies
• Kamryn Griffith, Department of Physics & Astronomy
• Wesley Mark Lincoln, Department of Linguistics
• De’Vonte Tinsley, Department of History

“Presidential Ph.D. Fellows show exceptional promise in research and teaching that make a difference,” Magill says. “We are excited to welcome and proud to support this year’s cohort. They and all Presidential Ph.D. Fellows make Penn and our community that much more insightful, dynamic, and broadly excellent.”
For the full announcement, visit Penn Today.


Arts & Sciences News

Holger Sieg Named Baird Term Professor of Economics

Sieg focuses his research on public and urban economics, as well as the political economy of state and local governments.

View Article >
Frank Schorfheide Named Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Economics

His research provides a set of tools that are useful for empirical work with modern macroeconomic models, including forecasting and policy analysis.

View Article >
Taussia Boadi, C’24, and Cheryl Nnadi, C’24, Honored as Projects for Progress Winners

The pair, along with Ariane Thomas of Penn GSE, won for Positioned for Success, which provides academic support and enrichment to Philadelphia middle school students in the child welfare system affected by gun violence or parental incarceration.

View Article >
Hear the Latest Research by Penn Arts & Sciences Graduate Students at Penn Grad Talks February 23

Twenty students will present their work in eight-minute TED-style talks. Cash prizes are on the line.

View Article >
Daniel Wodak Receives Political Philosophy Prize

The Associate Professor of Philosophy earned the recognition from the Marc Sanders Foundation for his essay “One Person, One Vote.”

View Article >
Decherney and Woubshet Named Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Endowed Term Professors

Peter Decherney is a professor of cinema studies and director of the Penn Global Documentary Institute. Dagmawi Woubshet is a scholar, writer, and translator in the English department.

View Article >