Daniel Wodak Receives Political Philosophy Prize

Daniel Wodak

Daniel Wodak, Associate Professor of Philosophy, received the 2023 Political Philosophy Prize from the Marc Sanders Foundation for his essay “One Person, One Vote.” In the paper, he discusses the slogan’s omnipresence in democratic movements today, as well as the fact that few in politics today agree on its meaning. “My goal,” he writes, “is to convince you that an urgent problem in democratic theory is to determine what it should mean to have ‘an equal say’ or ‘an equal vote.’”  
The prize committee called Wodak’s paper one that “powerfully challenges a widely endorsed slogan” and “provocatively” pushes the reader toward radical conclusions like thinking that “all district-based voting systems including those used in the U.S. House of Representatives, Senate, and Electoral College, violate this minimal demand of political equality.” The Marc Sanders Prize in Political Philosophy is an essay competition for early-career scholars. Submitted works must present original research on topics central to political or social philosophy such as moral issues relating to the state, justice, or freedom.
Wodak, who joined Penn’s faculty in 2019 and has a secondary appointment in the Penn Carey School of Law, is also Associate Director of Penn’s Institute for Law and Philosophy. He studies many areas including metaethics, the philosophy of law, the philosophy of race and gender, and social and political philosophy. In 2019, he won the Marc Sanders Prize for Metaethics.

Arts & Sciences News

Wale Adebanwi and Deborah A. Thomas Named 2024 Guggenheim Fellows

The award is designed to allow independent work at the highest level under “the freest possible conditions.”

View Article >
2024 College of Arts & Sciences Graduation Speakers

James “Jim” Johnson, C’74, L’77, LPS ’21, a School of Arts and Sciences Board of Advisors member, and student speaker Katie Volpert, C’24, will address the Class of 2024 Sunday May 19 on Franklin Field.

View Article >
Undergraduate and Graduate Students Honored as 2024 Dean’s Scholars

This honor is presented annually to students who exhibit exceptional academic performance and intellectual promise.

View Article >
Azuma and Hart Named Roy F. and Jeannette P. Nichols Professors of American History

Eiichiro Azuma specializes in Asian American and transpacific history, while Emma Hart teaches and researches the history of early North America, the Atlantic World, and early modern Britain between 1500 and 1800.

View Article >
Arts & Sciences Students Honored during 37th Annual Women of Color Day

Sade Taiwo, C’25, and Kyndall Nicholas, a Ph.D. candidate in neuroscience, were honored for their work.

View Article >
Nine College Students and Alums Named Thouron Scholars; Will Pursue Graduate Studies in the U.K.

The Scholars are six seniors and three recent graduates whose majors range from neuroscience to communication.

View Article >