Frank Schorfheide Named Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Economics

Frank Schorfheide, Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Economics

Frank Schorfheide has been named the Christopher H. Browne Distinguished Professor of Economics. Schorfheide is a Research Fellow at the Centre for Economic Policy Research, a Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research, and has been a Visiting Scholar at several central banks. He also has served as Co-Editor on the editorial boards of International Economic Review from 2005-2009 and Quantitative Economics from 2011-2018. He was chair of the Department of Economics from 2018 to 2021 and currently is an associate editor for the Journal of Econometrics.

Schorfheide conducts research in econometrics and macroeconomics. Much of his work can be classified as macroeconometrics and is related to the Bayesian analysis of dynamic stochastic general equilibrium (DSGE) models and vector autoregressions (VARs). His research provides a set of tools that are useful for empirical work with modern macroeconomic models, including forecasting and policy analysis. He has applied these methods to analyze the sources of business cycle fluctuations and to study the effects of monetary policy. In recent years, Schorfheide also worked on forecasting with dynamic panel data models and, more generally, on the estimation of models with unobserved heterogeneity. His research has been published in top general-interest economics journals, including the American Economic Review, Econometrica, and the Review of Economic Studies. He also published the book Bayesian Estimation of DSGE Models.

The late Christopher H. Browne, C’69, served as the former chair of the Board of Advisors at Penn Arts & Sciences and as a Trustee of the University. The Browne Distinguished Professorships recognize faculty members who have achieved an extraordinary reputation for scholarly contributions, demonstrated great distinction in teaching, and demonstrated intellectual integrity and unquestioned commitment to free and open discussion of ideas.


Arts & Sciences News

Wale Adebanwi and Deborah A. Thomas Named 2024 Guggenheim Fellows

The award is designed to allow independent work at the highest level under “the freest possible conditions.”

View Article >
2024 College of Arts & Sciences Graduation Speakers

James “Jim” Johnson, C’74, L’77, LPS ’21, a School of Arts and Sciences Board of Advisors member, and student speaker Katie Volpert, C’24, will address the Class of 2024 Sunday May 19 on Franklin Field.

View Article >
Undergraduate and Graduate Students Honored as 2024 Dean’s Scholars

This honor is presented annually to students who exhibit exceptional academic performance and intellectual promise.

View Article >
Azuma and Hart Named Roy F. and Jeannette P. Nichols Professors of American History

Eiichiro Azuma specializes in Asian American and transpacific history, while Emma Hart teaches and researches the history of early North America, the Atlantic World, and early modern Britain between 1500 and 1800.

View Article >
Arts & Sciences Students Honored during 37th Annual Women of Color Day

Sade Taiwo, C’25, and Kyndall Nicholas, a Ph.D. candidate in neuroscience, were honored for their work.

View Article >
Nine College Students and Alums Named Thouron Scholars; Will Pursue Graduate Studies in the U.K.

The Scholars are six seniors and three recent graduates whose majors range from neuroscience to communication.

View Article >