Joseph Farrell Wins McKay Book Prize for Juno’s Aeneid

Joseph Farrell, Mark K. and Esther W. Watkins Professor in the Humanities

Joseph Farrell, Mark K. and Esther W. Watkins Professor in the Humanities and Professor of Classical Studies, has won the Alexander G. McKay Book Prize from the Vergilian Society for Juno’s Aeneid: A Battle for Heroic Identity. The prize is awarded for the best book in studies of the ancient Roman poet Vergil, who lived in the Augustan period and composed three of the most famous poems in Latin literature: the Eclogues, the Georgics, and the epic Aeneid.

The citation calls the book “the work of one of the most insightful interpreters of Vergilian and Augustan poetry,” and says, “Juno’s Aeneid will remain a landmark study in Vergilian scholarship for generations to come.”

Farrell is an internationally recognized Latinist whose research spans genres and historical epochs. A scholar of Latin literature and poetry as well as the culture of the Republican and Augustan periods, he has published a number of groundbreaking studies which encompass both traditional and innovative topics and approaches. He has translated important and highly challenging texts and has edited and co-edited influential compilations, namely on Augustan poetry and the works of Vergil.

The Vergilian Society promotes more effective teaching of Latin and Greek literature, ancient history, and Roman life, with the conviction that informed and enthusiastic teachers are the key to student interest in classical studies.

To read the full citation, click here.


Arts & Sciences News

Ryan Hynd Receives 2022-2023 Claytor-Gilmer Fellowship

Fellowship recipients are recognized for their achievements as well as for their potential for further contributions to mathematics.

View Article >
History of Ideas Wins PROSE Award

The six-volume A Cultural History of Ideas was co-edited by Sophia Rosenfeld, Walter H. Annenberg Professor of History, and Peter Struck, Professor of Classical Studies.

View Article >
Eight College Students Named Thouron Scholars

The Thouron Award allows recipients to pursue graduate studies in the U.K., providing tuition for as long as two years, as well as travel and living stipends.

View Article >
Herman Beavers Wins Judith Rodin Education Award and Randy Martin Spirit Award

The Julie Beren Platt and Marc E. Platt President’s Distinguished Professor of English and African Studies was honored for his engagement and service.

View Article >
Penn Grad Talks Winners

Five graduate students received $500 each for their TED Talk-style presentations.

View Article >
Mark Trodden Named Next Associate Dean for Natural Sciences

The Fay R. and Eugene L. Langberg Professor of Physics will oversee the School’s natural sciences departments and research centers, effective July 1, 2023.

View Article >