Martin Seligman Awarded RCSI Honorary Doctorate


Martin Seligman was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences in Dublin at the 2021 School of Medicine conferring ceremony.

Seligman, Zellerbach Family Professor of Psychology and Director of the Positive Psychology Center, is recognized as the founder of positive psychology as a field of scientific study.

He has written more than 350 scholarly publications and 30 books, and his methods have been adopted widely across the world in education, healthcare, and public policy. His most recent book, The Hope Circuit, published in 2018, is an autobiography and memoir of his ideas, described as "A Psychologist's Journey from Helplessness to Optimism."

RCSI established an Annual Honorary Doctorate Award in 2011 to recognize excellence and to provide inspiration to graduating students on their conferring day. The Honorary Doctorate of Science is the highest academic award given by the university, and awardees are exceptional people who have made a difference to the world through education, research, or service.

Cathal Kelly, RCSI CEO, said: “It is a great honour and privilege for RCSI that Professor Martin Seligman has accepted this Honorary Doctorate. Professor Seligman is a pioneer. As the founder of the field of positive psychology, he has dedicated his distinguished 55-year-long career to building our understanding of how our strengths, positive emotion, good relationships, meaning, and flourishing shapes our lives and our health."

“His influence permeates the culture of RCSI and, inspired by his work, we launched the world’s first academic centre for positive psychology and health in 2020. He is a most deserving recipient of this Honorary Doctorate," added Professor Kelly.


Arts & Sciences News

David Christianson Receives American Chemical Society Philadelphia Section Award

Christianson’s research focuses on the structure and function of metal-requiring enzymes.

View Article >
Robert A. Rescorla Fund Supports Undergraduate Research with MindCORE

The fund will support undergraduates conducting research on human thinking and behavior as part of MindCORE’s summer fellowship program.

View Article >
Harun Küçük brings science, philosophy, and history to the Middle East Center

The newly appointed faculty director says his aim ‘first and foremost is to maintain all the good things that the Center’s already doing.’

View Article >
Aurélie Ouss Named Janice and Julian Bers Assistant Professor in the Social Sciences

The Assistant Professor of Criminology studies how good design of criminal justice institutions and policies can make law enforcement fairer and more efficient.

View Article >
Penn Arts & Sciences Announces Making a Difference in Global Communities and Klein Family Social Justice Grants

Fifteen projects were awarded grants.

View Article >
Christopher Woods Named Avalon Professor in the Humanities

Woods recently joined Penn as Williams Director of the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology and Professor of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations.

View Article >