Michael Mann to Receive John Scott Award from the Franklin Institute and the City of Philadelphia

Michael E. Mann, Presidential Distinguished Professor of Earth and Environmental Science

Michael E. Mann, one of the world’s leading voices on climate change, will receive the John Scott Award from the Franklin Institute and the City of Philadelphia. The oldest science award in the United States, the John Scott Award is given to “the most deserving” individuals who have contributed to the “comfort, welfare and happiness” of humankind. Mann shares the award with Princeton’s Robert Socolow.

Mann, Presidential Distinguished Professor of Earth and Environmental Science and director of the Penn Center for Science, Sustainability and the Media, also holds a secondary appointment in the Annenberg School for Communication. His research interests include the study of Earth’s climate system and the science, impacts, and policy implications of human-caused climate change. Mann was lead author on the Observed Climate Variability and Change chapter of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Third Scientific Assessment Report in 2001, and was organizing committee chair for the National Academy of Sciences Frontiers of Science in 2003. He has received numerous honors and awards including the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s outstanding publication award in 2002 and selection by Scientific American as one of the 50 leading visionaries in science and technology in 2002. In all, Mann has authored more than 200 peer-reviewed and edited publications, numerous op-eds and commentaries, and six books, most recently Our Fragile Moment: How Lessons from Earth's Past Can Help Us Survive the Climate Crisis, which was published in September.

The John Scott Awards are named after the 19th-century chemist who endowed the prize in honor of Benjamin Franklin. Mann and Socolow will be presented with their awards Nov. 30 at the American Philosophical Society, founded in 1743 by Franklin in Philadelphia. The award comes with a prize of $15,000 each. Winners are selected by other scientists from around the nation.


Arts & Sciences News

Wale Adebanwi and Deborah A. Thomas Named 2024 Guggenheim Fellows

The award is designed to allow independent work at the highest level under “the freest possible conditions.”

View Article >
2024 College of Arts & Sciences Graduation Speakers

James “Jim” Johnson, C’74, L’77, LPS ’21, a School of Arts and Sciences Board of Advisors member, and student speaker Katie Volpert, C’24, will address the Class of 2024 Sunday May 19 on Franklin Field.

View Article >
Undergraduate and Graduate Students Honored as 2024 Dean’s Scholars

This honor is presented annually to students who exhibit exceptional academic performance and intellectual promise.

View Article >
Azuma and Hart Named Roy F. and Jeannette P. Nichols Professors of American History

Eiichiro Azuma specializes in Asian American and transpacific history, while Emma Hart teaches and researches the history of early North America, the Atlantic World, and early modern Britain between 1500 and 1800.

View Article >
Arts & Sciences Students Honored during 37th Annual Women of Color Day

Sade Taiwo, C’25, and Kyndall Nicholas, a Ph.D. candidate in neuroscience, were honored for their work.

View Article >
Nine College Students and Alums Named Thouron Scholars; Will Pursue Graduate Studies in the U.K.

The Scholars are six seniors and three recent graduates whose majors range from neuroscience to communication.

View Article >