Sorey Named Presidential Assistant Professor of Music

Tyshawn Sorey, Presidential Assistant Professor of Music.

Tyshawn Sorey, who recently joined Penn as Assistant Professor of Music, has been named Presidential Assistant Professor of Music. A renowned figure in the contemporary music scene, Sorey is a multi-instrumentalist and composer who occupies a unique space between the worlds of spontaneous and formal composition. He has released 13 critically-acclaimed recordings as a composer and bandleader and received support for his creative projects from The Jerome Foundation and The Shifting Foundation. Sorey was named a MacArthur fellow in 2017 and was the 2018 recipient of the United States Artists grant. He has received commissions of his work from JACK Quartet, Ojai Music Festival, International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE), and others. Sorey has performed around the world with his own ensembles, as well as with artists such as John Zorn, Vijay Iyer, and Roscoe Mitchell. He was recently named Opera Philadelphia’s new Composer in Residence. Prior to coming to Penn, Sorey served as Assistant Professor of Music at Wesleyan University.

The Presidential Professorships are five-year term chairs, awarded by University of Pennsylvania President Amy Gutmann to outstanding scholars, whose appointments to the standing faculty are approved by the Provost, and who demonstrably contribute excellence and diversity to Penn’s inclusive community.


Arts & Sciences News

College Graduate Mackenzie Fierceton Awarded Rhodes Scholarship

Mackenzie Fierceton, C'20, has been awarded a 2021 Rhodes Scholarship for graduate study at the University of Oxford.

View Article >
Gwendolyn DuBois Shaw Named Class of 1940 Bicentennial Term Chair

Penn's Provost and Vice Provost for Faculty have announced the appointment of Gwendolyn DuBois Shaw, Associate Professor of History of Art., to the Class of 1940 Bicentennial Term Chair.

View Article >
Music Graduate Students Receive Awards at 2020 American Musicological Society Conference

Maria Ryan and Xintong (Bess) Liu were awarded fellowships for their research projects.

View Article >
Three Criminology Faculty Awarded

They were recognized by the 2020 Division of Experimental Criminology and Academy of Experimental Criminology Awards.

View Article >
Lynn Meskell Appointed Penn Integrates Knowledge University Professor

Meskell, a world-renowned archaeologist, is the Richard D. Green University Professor.

View Article >
Yoichiro Mori Named Calabi-Simons Professor

Yoichiro Mori, who recently joined Penn as Professor of Mathematics and Biology, has been appointed Calabi-Simons Professor in Mathematics and Biology.

View Article >